Serving Montana Agriculture and growing prosperity under the Big Sky

Hail Insurance Program: Applying

The last day to purchase a State policy for 2021 is August 15.

Serving Montana Producers for over 100 Years

Montana Departent of Agriculture Hail Insurance Program logo.

To purchase policies:

  • Your county Department of Revenue office is no longer the contact for state hail insurance policies.
  • Mail, email or fax the PDF Hail Insurance Application Form to the Montana Department of Agriculture, Hail Insurance program at the address indicated on the form; OR
  • Call the office until August 15th.
  • Be sure and fill out your field information including section number, township and range.
  • If you have questions or prefer to talk to someone about your policy you may phone your information in to the State Hail Program office using the toll free number at 1-844-515-1571.

Important Deadlines

  • Last date to purchase State policies is August 15th.
  • Coverage begins at 12:01 am on the day following the postmark, fax date or call in day as it is received by the Department of Agriculture.
  • Report losses to the State Hail Insurance Program using the Hail Insurance Loss Claim PDF Form, or call (406) 444-5429 or toll free at 844-515-1571, or mail or e-mail the form within two weeks of hail damage occurrence.
  • Last date to submit a loss is October 1st.

Crop Coverage

Hail insurance is available on crops for the full growing season with a maximum coverage as set by state law of $75 per acre on non-irrigated crops and $114 per acre on irrigated crops. Policies will be effective at 12:01 a.m. the day following the date of application. Click here to view 2021 Hail Insurance Rates.

Crops may be insured at any time until August 15, inclusive. Coverage ends when crops are headed, mowed or harvested or when crops are destroyed by means other than hail. All liability on crops insured will expire October 1 at 11:59 pm.


Crops Covered

Crops Covered
       
Alfalfa Seed Corn Potatoes Sugarbeets
Barley Durum Wheat Rape Seed (Canola) Sunflower
Beans Flax Rye Sweet Clover
Black Medic Hay Safflower Triticale
Buckwheat Lentils Sainfoin Wheat Grass
Camelina Millet Sorghum Winter Whet
Canary Seed Mustard Speltz  
Canola Oats Spring Wheat  
Chickpeas Peas Soybeans  

Payment Options

Your state hail insurance policy can be paid for using an e-check, debit/credit card, cash or check. Fees will apply for e-check and card transactions. Your official policy will be mailed to you for your review and signature. You must sign the policy and return it to our office with any corrections along with payment if you choose cash payment. We will enclose an addressed, postage paid envelope for your use.

Refer to Payment Options below for all the ways to pay for your insurance, or click here to view/download the Hail Insurance Payment Options Sheet . All charge policies are due and payable November 30, 2021.

As per the growers’ requests and legislative action ( HB189) in 2013, you now have the opportunity to insure your crops at a higher level. The dry land rate has increased to $75 per acre and irrigated to $114 per acre.

Electronic Payment: Qualify for the 4% cash discount.

Fees
Payment Type Fees
E-check – You will be able to complete payment when you purchase your policy if you choose to call the State Hail Insurance office at 406-444-5429. Just give your information to the customer service person in our office.
 $2.00 per transaction regardless of purchase amount.
Credit /Debit Card
(Mastercard/Visa/Discover/Amex)
- You will be able to complete payment when you purchase your policy if you choose to call the State Hail Insurance office at 406-444-5429. Just give your information to the customer service person in our office.


 Purchase amount x 0.0215 + $1.25
Cash or Check Payment: Qualify for the 4% cash discount.

Payment within two weeks of your policy effective date will receive a 4% discount. Be sure to return the signed policy and payment (check) within seven days to receive the discount. Keep in mind that if payment is not received within the two weeks, a crop lien on the insured crops sufficient to cover the fees for the insurance, plus interest will be filed.

Charge: Due in full on November 30, 2021 no discount.

You are only entitled to choose this option if you own the land that the crop is growing on. If the full payment is not received by 
November 30,  2021   interest will accrue and a lien may be filed on your property.

Charge: Crop lien on your crop no discount.

If you do not own land and wish to charge your policy, you must choose lien from the payment types and a lien will be filed on your current crop. Upon delivery of your grain the elevator will include the Montana Department of Agriculture on your check. You must contact the department to have the lien released.

Hail insurance coverage maximums for 2021 have been set by the Montana State Hail Insurance Board at $75 per acre for non-irrigated crops and $114 an acre for irrigated crops. Rates charged are a percentage of the insured amount and vary by county according to the hail loss history of the area.

Click here to view/download 2021 Hail Insurance Rates in PDF format.


County Rates

Current County Rates

4% discount if paid with 14 days of policy effective date
   

Non-irrigated

 

Irrigated

    Rate at $75 per acre Off Set Rate 0.02/ Barley
&
Safflower
Off Set Rate 0.03/ Soybeans Off Set Rate 0.06/ Peas,
Lentils
&
Chickpeas
  Rate at $114 per acre Off Set Rate 0.02/ Barley
&
Safflower
Off Set Rate 0.03/ Soybeans Off Set Rate 0.06/ Peas,
Lentils
&
Chickpeas
  2021
County Rate
Beaverhead 10.50% $7.88 $9.38 $10.13 $12.38   $11.97 $14.25 $15.39 $18.81
Big Horn 10.50% $7.88 $9.38 $10.13 $12.38   $11.97 $14.25 $15.39 $18.81
Blaine 8.40% $6.30 $7.80 $8.55 $10.80   $9.58 $11.86 $13.00 $16.42
Broadwater 6.30% $4.73 $6.23 $6.98 $9.23   $7.18 $9.46 $10.60 $14.02
Carbon 6.30% $4.73 $6.23 $6.98 $9.23   $7.18 $9.46 $10.60 $14.02
Carter 11.55% $8.66 $10.16 $10.91 $13.16   $13.17 $15.45 $16.59 $20.01
Cascade 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Chouteau 10.50% $7.88 $9.38 $10.13 $12.38   $11.97 $14.25 $15.39 $18.81
Custer 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Daniels 8.40% $6.30 $7.80 $8.55 $10.80   $9.58 $11.86 $13.00 $16.42
Dawson 10.50% $7.88 $9.38 $10.13 $12.38   $11.97 $14.25 $15.39 $18.81
Fallon 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Fergus 10.50% $7.88 $9.38 $10.13 $12.38   $11.97 $14.25 $15.39 $18.81
Flathead 5.25% $3.94 $5.44 $6.19 $8.44   $5.99 $8.27 $9.41 $12.83
Gallatin 7.35% $5.51 $7.01 $7.76 $10.01   $8.38 $10.66 $11.80 $15.22
Garfield 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Glacier 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Golden Valley 10.50% $7.88 $9.38 $10.13 $12.38   $11.97 $14.25 $15.39 $18.81
Hill 8.40% $6.30 $7.80 $8.55 $10.80   $9.58 $11.86 $13.00 $16.42
Jefferson 6.30% $4.73 $6.23 $6.98 $8.48   $7.18 $9.46 $10.60 $14.02
Judith Basin 10.50% $7.88 $9.38 $10.13 $12.38   $11.97 $14.25 $15.39 $18.81
Lake 5.25% $3.94 $5.44 $6.19 $8.44   $5.99 $8.27 $9.41 $12.83
Lewis & Clark 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Liberty 8.40% $6.30 $7.80 $8.55 $10.80   $9.58 $11.86 $13.00 $16.42
Madison 7.35% $5.51 $7.01 $7.76 $10.01   $8.38 $10.66 $11.80 $15.22
McCone 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Meagher 7.35% $5.51 $7.01 $7.76 $10.01   $8.38 $10.66 $11.80 $15.22
Mineral 5.25% $3.94 $5.44 $6.19 $8.44   $5.99 $8.27 $9.41 $12.83
Musselshell 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Park 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Petroleum 10.50% $7.88 $9.38 $10.13 $12.38   $11.97 $14.25 $15.39 $18.81
Phillips 8.40% $6.30 $7.80 $8.55 $10.80   $9.58 $11.86 $13.00 $16.42
Pondera 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Powder River 10.50% $7.88 $9.38 $10.13 $12.38   $11.97 $14.25 $15.39 $18.81
Powell 5.25% $3.94 $5.44 $6.19 $8.44   $5.99 $8.27 $9.41 $12.83
Prairie 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Ravalli 5.25% $3.94 $5.44 $6.19 $8.44   $5.99 $8.27 $9.41 $12.83
Richland 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Roosevelt 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Rosebud 10.50% $7.88 $9.38 $10.13 $12.38   $11.97 $14.25 $15.39 $18.81
Sheridan 8.40% $6.30 $7.80 $8.55 $10.80   $9.58 $11.86 $13.00 $16.42
Stillwater 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Sweet Grass 8.40% $6.30 $7.80 $8.55 $10.80   $9.58 $11.86 $13.00 $16.42
Teton 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Toole 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Treasure 10.50% $7.88 $9.38 $10.13 $12.38   $11.97 $14.25 $15.39 $18.81
Valley 8.40% $6.30 $7.80 $8.55 $10.80   $9.58 $11.86 $13.00 $16.42
Wheatland 10.50% $7.88 $9.38 $10.13 $12.38   $11.97 $14.25 $15.39 $18.81
Wibaux 9.45% $7.09 $8.59 $9.34 $11.59   $10.77 $13.05 $14.19 $17.61
Yellowstone 10.50% $7.88 $9.38 $10.13 $12.38   $11.97 $14.25 $15.39 $18.81
Offset Rates

Current Off Set Rates Per Crop

Code Crop Name Rate
AS Alfafa Seed 0.03
BA Barley 0.02
BN Beans 0.06
BM Black Medic 0.06
BK Buckwheat 0
CM Camelina 0.06
CS Canary Seed 0.03
CA Canola 0.06
CP Chickpeas 0.06
CN Corn 0
DW Durum Wheat 0
FX Flax 0
HE Hemp 0.05
HY Hay 0
LT Lentils 0.06
ML Millet 0
MU Mustard 0.06
OT Oats 0
PE Peas 0.06
PO Potatoes 0
RS Rape Seed (Canola) 0.06
RY Rye 0
SF Safflower 0.02
SA Sainfoin 0.05
SG Sorghum 0
SY Soybeans 0.03
SP Speltz 0
SW Spring Wheat 0
SB Sugarbeets 0
SU Sunflower 0
SC Sweet Clover 0.03
TR Triticale 0
WG Wheat Grass 0.03
WW Winter Wheat 0
Alfalfa - goes under Hay 0
Kamut - goes under Spring Wheat 0
Crambe - goes under Canola 0.06
Indian Rice Grass - goes under Canary Seed 0.03
Garbanzo Beans - goes under Chickpeas 0.06
Hail Map
Hail damage to a sunflower crop in Montana.

When there is a hail loss it is the participating producers’ responsibility to inform the Hail Insurance Program of the loss within two weeks of the loss occurrence. Send the hail loss claim form to the address on the form, e-mail the form or call the State Hail Insurance office at 406-444-5429 or toll free at 1-844-515-1571.

For additional losses, download/print a new Crop Loss Claim Form to mail or call the office to report. When the Hail Insurance Program receives the form an adjuster will be assigned to your claim. The adjuster will contact the producer and schedule a convenient time to inspect the crop for loss.

It is necessary even when you have additional hail insurance to notify the State Hail Insurance Program to ensure that your loss is processed. If the policy premium has been assigned to a crop lien or a charge policy, the premiums will be deducted before a loss payment is issued.

A producer that is dissatisfied or has a question regarding the loss adjustment will be given the opportunity to address the Board of Hail Insurance. Submit your issue or question in writing to the Hail Insurance Program.

Important Deadline:

  • Last date to submit a loss claim is October 1st.

Submit a Claim Form

Loss claims can now be submitted using our pdf form. Click on the button below to get started.



Hail Insurance Program Frequently Asked Questions

Where do I go to get my hail insurance?

All policies will be issued through the State Hail Insurance Office in Helena. To reach us you can mail an application to the office, fax a worksheet or call the office.

Montana State Hail Insurance Program
Montana Department of Agriculture
P.O. Box 200201
Helena, MT 59620-0202
Phone: 406.444.5429 or 1-844-515-1571
E-mail: agrhail@mt.gov
Fax: 406.444.9442

When does my policy go into effect?

Your policy goes into effect at 12:01 a.m. the day after the application date. If mailed the postmark indicates the date of application.

Can I add more crops later?

You can add crops by taking out an additional policy. You can have more than one policy.

What if I don’t know the legal description of my fields?

You can find your field description by utilizing the Cadastral maps found online at Montana Cadastral (cadastral.mt.gov), or contact your local county Revenue Office.

How can I contact the adjuster?

You can contact the adjuster through the Montana Department of Agriculture, Hail Program Office at 406-444-5429 or 1-844-515-1571. The adjuster will call you as soon as possible.

When will the adjuster contact me?

After you submit your claim to the state office, an adjuster will be assigned to your claim. They will contact you as soon as possible. Keep in mind that the adjuster is trying to visit several sites in a day so will need to coordinate visits.

It is taking too long to get an adjuster out to my fields. Can I plow-down/hay/graze the destroyed crop to save some value?

The hail insurance claim form states: "If any insured grain has been damaged by hail and is ripe enough to harvest before the adjuster appears, the insured may precede with harvest with the exception that representative samples must be left in each field. These samples should be strips or spots of grain approximately (20'x 20') in various parts of the field. Do not select those spots or strips where the grain has been double drilled." You will not be able to graze the field as you couldn't keep a sample.

What is the mailing address for the Helena Office?

Montana State Hail Insurance Program
Montana Department of Agriculture
P.O. Box 200201
Helena, MT 59620-0202

When is the premium due?

If you choose to charge your policy, the premium is due by November 30th. You will receive a reminder bill from the Montana Department of Agriculture. There are numerous ways to pay for your policy - find out which option best fits your needs on the Applying for Hail Insurance page, or download the Payment Options info sheet (pdf format).

What if I don’t have Internet access?

You do not need Internet service to purchase a policy. Contact the Montana Department of Agriculture, Hail Program Office at 406-444-5429 or toll free at 1-844-515-1571.

Board Members

Board of Directors
Name Contact Info Term End Qualifications
Christy Clark, Acting Director Dept. of Agriculture
PO Box 200201
Helena, MT 59620
agr@mt.gov
 Statutory Agriculture Director, Statutory Appointment
Troy Downing, State Auditor 840 Helena Ave
Helena, MT 59620
 Statutory State Auditor, Statutory Appointment
Vince Mattson PO Box 369
Chester, MT 59522
5/1/2023 Public Representative
Bing VonBergen 4159 Stockfarm Rd
Moccasin, MT 59462
5/1/2024 Public Representative
Jim Schillinger PO Box 44
Circle, MT 59215
5/1/2022 Public Representative


Montana Board of Hail Insurance Agenda and Minutes

December 1, 2020 | Agenda | Minutes
December 4, 2019 | Agenda | Minutes
March 26, 2019 | Agenda | Minutes
March 21, 2018 | Agenda | Minutes
November 28, 2018 | Agenda | Minutes
November 29, 2017 | Agenda | Minutes
March 21, 2017 | Agenda | Minutes

All the Forms You Will Need


Hail Insurance News

Contact

Montana State Hail Insurance Program
Phone: : (406) 444-5429
or 1-844-515-1571
E-mail: : agrhail@mt.gov
Fax: : (406) 444-9442
P.O. Box 200201
Helena, MT 59620-0202