Serving Montana Agriculture and growing prosperity under the Big Sky

Montana Department of Agriculture

Staff Phone List

Scott Hart Building
(Agriculture/Livestock/Department of Justice)

302 North Roberts
Helena, MT 59601

Mailing Address:
PO Box 200201

Helena, MT 59620-0201

Main Number 444-3144
Fax Number 444-5409
TTY (Telephone Device for the Deaf) 444-6234

Director's Office

Scott Hart Bldg., 2nd Floor
Main Phone: (406) 444-3144 Fax: (406) 444-5409

Director, Christy Clark 444-5440
Deputy Director, Zach Coccoli 444-0132
Attorney, Cort Jensen 444-5402
Deputy Attorney, Vacant 444-5406
Communications Officer, Vacant 444-3684
Executive Assistant, Jesse May 444-3156
Administrative Assistant, Sonya Amman 444-3144

Central Services Division

Scott Hart Bldg., 2nd Floor
Main Phone: (406) 444-3144 Fax: (406) 444-5409

Chief Financial Officer, Cody Pearce 444-5405
Accountant, MacKenzie Welch 444-5403
Accountant, Brittany Brott 444-5404
Accountant, David Johnson 444-4197
Budget Analyst, Sunni Hitchcock 444-3640
Human Resources (406) 444-0606
Human Resources Manager, Mikal Wilkerson 444-9474
Human Resources Generalist, Traci Merzlak 444-3145
Human Resource Fax Number 444-0606
Office of Information Technology
Chief Information Officer, Todd Magill 444-2934
Application Developer & Administrator, Vacant 444-9492
Database Developer, Chuck Vopicka 444-4974
Network Administrator, Jay Campbell 444-0667
Web Application Developer, Ben Harris 444-9562

Agricultural Development Division

Scott Hart Bldg., 3rd Floor
Main Phone: (406) 444-2402 Fax: (406) 444-9442

Agricultural Development & Marketing Bureau
Administrator, Zach Coccoli 444-0132
Bureau Chief, Andy Fjeseth 444-3571
Grants Manager, Alyssa Townsend 444-5424
Agricultural Grant Specialist/GTA Program Manager, Bailey Kaskie 444-0134
Agricultural Grant Specialist/SCBG Program Specialist, Caitlin Hortert 444-3407
Rural Development
Rural Development, Farm & Ranch Loan Manager, Walt Anseth 444-5402
Hail Insurance Technician/Hay Hotline, Dani Jones 444-2402
Hail Insurance Hotline 1-844-515-1571
Hail Customer Service, Mikayla Witter 444-6265
Marketing Officer, Marty Earnheart 444-9126
Marketing Officer, Alicia Hamm 444-5425
Marketing Officer, Weston Merrill (Billings) 558-9880
Marketing Intern, Vacant

State Grain Laboratory Bureau, Great Falls

821 N. 17th St, Great Falls, MT 59403
Main Phone: (406) 452-9561 Fax: (406) 761-2141

Director, Dan Reimer 604-7181
Administrative Assistant, Dawn Miller 604-7182
Administrative Specialist, Michaela DeBoo  604-7183
Lab Coordinator, Kari Schiller
Ag Inspector, Jeff Hofstad 604-7186
Ag Inspector, Scott Geda 604-7184
Ag Inspector, Michael Birkoski 604-7187
Ag Technician, Vacant 604-7188
Ag Technician, Tom Troxwell 604-7189
Quality Assurance/Lead Inspector, Adam Gutzwiler  604-7190
Plentywood State Grain Lab

119 N. Jackson St., Plentywood, MT 59254
Main Phone: (406) 756-1000 Fax (406) 761-2141

Ag Inspector, Melissa Price (406) 765-1005
Ag Technician, Zachary Kadrmas (406) 765-1005
Lab Coordinator, Patti Hedges (406) 765-1005

Wheat and Barley Bureau, Great Falls

300 Park Drive, S., Suite 104, Great Falls, MT 59403-3024
Main Phone: (406) 761-7732 Fax: (406) 761-7851

Interim Bureau Chief, Jason Laird 604-7592
Office Administrator, Tammy Suek 604-7589
Accounting Tech, Kolleen Spurgin 604-7590
Marketing Development & Research Director, Jason Laird 604-7592
Market Development Strategist, Sam Anderson 604-7591

Agricultural Sciences Division

Scott Hart Bldg., 1st Floor
Main Phone: (406) 444-2944 Fax: (406) 444-9493

Administrator, Ian Foley 444-9454
Office Coordinator, Kim Englert 444-2944
Ag Services Bureau

Scott Hart Bldg. 1st Floor, Resource Room 107

Bureau Chief, Kima Traynham 444-9431
Pesticide Compliance Section
Pesticide Compliance Supervisor, Leonard Berry 444-6982
Case Review, Worker Protection, Matt Deaton 444-5953
Pesticide Licensing, Registration & Training Section
Pesticide Licensing, Registration, and Training Program Manager, Rory Ruffner 444-3676
Pesticide Registration Specialist, Shaunie Aklestad 444-5471
Pesticide Licensing Specialist, Tari Nyland 444-4900
Training/Development Specialist,  Vacant 444-5512
Pesticide Education Specialist, Vacant 444-3732
Vertebrate Pest Specialist, Stephen Vantassel 538-3004
Noxious Weed Section
State Weed Coordinator, Jasmine Chaffee 444-3140
Noxious Weed Free Materials Coordinator, Andrew Lam 444-7819
Noxious Weed Task Force Coordinator, Josh Wagoner 444-7880
Noxious Weed Grant Coordinator, Greta Dige 444-7882
Groundwater Section
Sustainable Agriculture Section Supervisor, Brett Heitshusen 444-3271
Hydrologist, John Peterson 444-5422
Pesticide Container Recycling Technician, Brandon Gilbertson 431-3204

Analytical Laboratory Bureau, Bozeman

McCall Hall, MSU, Bozeman, MT 59717-3620
Main Phone: (406) 577-7917 Fax: (406) 444-7927

Director, Jona Verreth 577-7918
Assistant Lab Director, Kelsey Powers 577-7921
Analytical Chemist, Jaci Konecny 577-7924
Analytical Chemist, SooRyong Yoon 577-7925
Analytical Chemist, April Oliver 577-7920
Analytical Chemist, Jessi Langlais 577-7926
Senior Feed & Fert Chemist/QAO, Jessica Kurzen 577-7922
Technical Program Manager: Feed/Fert MAES Non-Pest, Robin Cassel 228-8012
Commodity Services Bureau

Scott Hart Bldg.
Main Phone: (406) 444-3730 Fax: (406) 444-9493

Bureau Chief, Ed Evanson 444-2945
Seed Potato, Anhydrous Ammonia & Produce Program Manager, Larry Krum 444-5419
Food Safety Manager, Andrea Sarchet 444-0131
Produce Safety Compliance Specialist, Jessica Arneson 444-3001
Commodity Section
Commodity Section Manager, Commodity Dealer / Warehouse Program, Bob Ballensky 444-3950
Commodity Services Licensing & Registration Specialist, Kay Deskins 444-0510
Commodity Services Licensing & Registration Specialist, Lori Leaf 444-3691
Field Operations Section,
& Fertilizer
Commodities Field Operations Section, Seed Program Manager, Ryan Solberg 556-4535
Feed & Fertilizer Specialist, Falina Hutchinson 444-5415
Natural Resources Section
Phyto/CAPS Survey Coordinator, Frank Etzler 444-9066
State Entomologist, Alyssa Piccolomini 444-3790
Nursery Specialist, Quarantine, Carson Thomas 444-3428
Organic Section
Organic Program Manager, Georgana Webster 444-9421
Organic Program Specialist, Ed Tyanich 444-7804
Pest Management & Hemp Section
Hemp Program Manager, Vacant 444-0512
Hemp Program Technician, Mikayla Moore 444-5430
Ag Field Technician, Braden Stremcha 444-5517