Serving Montana Agriculture and growing prosperity under the Big Sky

Governmental Applicators

Governmental Applicators

All state agencies, municipal corporations, or any other government agencies are subject to the same examination, completed application form and licensing fee requirement as the commercial applicators.

How to Obtain a License
  • Passing exams (core exam as well as category specific exams) with an 80% or better for general-use and/or restricted use products.
  • Completing an application form.
  • Pay required licensing fee.
  • $70.00 - first four Dealer and/or Applicator licenses per agency.
  • $15.00 - each additional Dealer and/or Applicator.
  • Additional Operator fees, if any, apply to each Applicator.
  • $895.00 - maximum annual fee per agency.
  • Federal and Tribal agencies are exempt from all licensing fees.

Government Applicator Categories

Core Certification must be achieved by all pesticide applicators and dealers wishing to become licensed in the state of Montana. This is accomplished by learning how to handle pesticides correctly and how to protect yourself, others and the environment from pesticide misuse. Study materials entitled "National Pesticide Applicator Certification Core Manual" and "Montana State Laws and Regulations Pertaining to the Use of Pesticides" are available from the department or can be found at the links below.

Regulatory Pest Control classification includes state, federal, county, or other governmental employees who use or supervise the use of pesticides in the control of regulated pests. The following sub classifications of government applicators are established to more accurately reflect some government applicator's specific duties and areas of operation.

  • (50) Mosquito Abatement
  • (51) Predator
  • (54) Rodent
  • (55) Weed
  • (56) Other (Sewer Treatment, Biocides, Etc.)