

Montana Pulse Crop Committee Meeting Minutes

June 6, 2022 Northern Research Center Havre, Montana

I. Call to order

Ryan Bogar called to order the regular meeting of the Pulse Crop Committee at 9:00 am on Monday June 6, 2022.

II. Roll call

The following committee members were present: Chair Ryan Bogar, Vice Chair Paul Kanning, Jillien Streit via Zoom, Todd Hansen, Brian Aklestad. Christy Clark via zoom and Zach Coccoli present in person (proxy for Christy Clark when she had to leave), Matt Franks via Zoom

Department of Agriculture: Andy Fjeseth and Dani Jones. Jason Laird in person and Sam Anderson via Zoom from Wheat and Barley

Members of the Public: Shannon Berndt – Northern Pulse Growers Association, Tim McGreevey – USA Dry Pea & Lentil Association, Tara Becken-REAL Montana via zoom, Claudia Mesa, Bozeman MT via zoom, Alison Vergeront -Montana Grain Growers Association

Chair Ryan Bogar asked for public comment. There were no comments from the public.

III. Board Administrative Consent Items

The meeting minutes from March 22, 2022, and April 29, 2022, were presented to the committee, changes were recorded. Brian Aklestad made the motion to approve the minutes as amended. Paul Kanning 2nd the motion, all in favor, motion passed.

IV. New Business

a) Budget and FY 2023 Projections- Cody Pearce presented the budget to the committee. Previous year contracts were discussed. Jillien Streit asked the question, what programs don't pay indirect. Paul brought up a change to the reserve amount,

it should be \$200,000; not the \$400,000. The net cash available to grant is \$1,498,721.44, Jillien made the motion to award \$1.4 million in grants at today's meeting. Todd Hansen 2^{nd} the motion. All in favor, motion passed

V. Executive Director Position Application

Paul Kanning made the motion to move the Executive Director discussion before a) the other grant proposals. Alison Vergeront shared the proposal with the committee that the salary is based on 30 hours per week and a one-year proposal from the time of hire. Paul Kanning brought up that the current RFP states "up to three years" he asked Alison if she would come back next year with an updated budget. Lobbying and legislature was discussed. Jillien Streit made the motion to move forward with the proposal from MGGA. To make sure that Montana growers have a voice, representation for growers and more representation for the reciprocity with Canada. Brian Aklestad added that he thinks that this is the best shot for the committee for the goals they want to see accomplished, to move forward with the RFP. Paul Kanning asked how the contract would work. Zach Coccoli let the committee know that the department will grant the funds to MGAA then contract to personal. The MGGA Board would have control over the hire/fire process. The contract person would need an email address, but not under the state or MGGA. They would report during public comment. The department will still do the basic admin work- accounting, assessment, and clerical; along with the minutes, posting to the webpage. Board member still work for the governor's office. Jillien's motion stands, Todd Hansen 2nd the motion. All in favor, motion passed. Paul Kanning would like the contract to be modified for the dates to be September to August, crossing fiscal dates. The committee awarded Montana Grain Growers \$83,000.00

VI. Grant Proposals

- a) Jillien Streit made the motion to fund the following grants with some changes to funds as listed below. Todd Hansen 2nd the motion. All in favor, motion passed
 - i) USDA NASS, Eric Sommers, 1) \$24,000.00 2) \$1,800.00
 - ii) REAL MT, Tara Becken, 1) \$5,000.00
 - iii) NPGA, Shannon Berndt 1) \$261,000.00 (proposed at \$334,200.00)
 - iv) USADPLC, Tim McGreevy, 1) \$1,200,000.00 (proposed at \$1,450,000.00)
- b) Not funded- Claudia Mesa. Jillien Streit would like to hold off for the year, have Claudia work with grower groups to use as resources.

VII. Pulse Chair Authority

a) It was discussed that the chair has basic authority to award or sign letters of support. All committee members were in favor

VIII. Other Business

 a) Travel- To be reimbursed for out of state travel, each member traveling must submit the request before travel dates. Travel voucher for reimbursement will be completed by Dani. Jillien Streit made the motion to approve travel for board members for the next year. Brian Aklestad 2nd the motion. All in favor, motion passed

Chair Ryan Bogar asked for additional public comment. There were no comments from the public.

The next meeting date is set for November, along with Montana Grain Growers. Dani Jones will work with Chair, Ryan Bogar for the date.

Paul Kanning moved to adjourn the meeting. Todd Hansen seconded. All in favor and Chair Bogar adjourned the meeting at 12:15 pm.

Minutes submitted by: Dani Jones_____

Minutes approved by: Ryan Bogar_____