MONTANA DEPARTMENT OF Reciprocity: Non-resident pesticide licensees holding a current pesticide license

AGR]CULTURE in another state may apply for a Montana reciprocal pesticide license.

Reciprocity is available only to the extent of the individual non-resident applicator or dealer’s existing pesticide license
and/or limited to the Montana classification definition. Even if a Montana classification is broader, the reciprocal license is
limited to the extent of the home state license regardless of any additional authorization allowed in Montana.

For reciprocity, non-resident pesticide license applicants must:

1. Take and pass the Montana Out-of-State exam scoring > 80%.

e The Out-of-State exam covers the Montana Pesticide Act and Administrative Rules.

Note: Aerial applicators must have also passed the national aerial examination with a score of > 80%;all
other similar categories with test scores > 80% reciprocate without further testing.

e Testing may be proctored out-of-state by either your state's pesticide regulatory department or by area university
extension agents. You will need to reach out and inquire of these entities to seek their willingness andavailability.
Either may send an e-mail to pestlicensing@mt.gov stating they are willing to proxy the Out-of-State exam on
your behalf. They will need to specifically name you and provide their desired mailing address for the exam
materials. Upon notification from them, testing materials for them to administer the exam will be mailed.E-mail
options are also available. Completed testing materials are returned to the Montana Department of Agriculture
(MDA) for scoring.

2. Proof of financial responsibility* must be on file with the MDA.

e *Commercial applicators, except wood product treatment and seed treatment classifications, must meet financial
liability requirements. A commercial applicator must show proof of financial responsibility before a pesticide
license is issued. Financial responsibility is met through insurance. An aerial applicator must carry an insurance
policy with minimum pesticide liability limits of $50,000. All other applicators must carry minimum pesticide
liability coverage of $30,000. Financial responsibility must be maintained in full force and be effective during each
entire licensing period and must cover any off-target chemical damage. There is no maximum deductible
requirement.

3. Service of Process with Montana must be filed with the Montana Secretary of State.
e Service of process is a requirement of the Montana Secretary of State. As a nonresident applicant, you must
complete this form and submit it with your $5.00 payment unless you or your employer have already establishedit.
Applicants may also register online at https://sosmt.gov/business.

4. Be in good standing in your home state.
e Request your state's pesticide regulatory department to send a Letter of Good Standing directly to the
MDA. Letters may be emailed to pestlicensing@mt.gov for faster service.

5. Provide a copy of your current, active pesticide license, front and back, from your state of residence.

6. Submitacompleted application, signed by the applicant and returned with the required documents and license fees.
e Upon the successful completion of the Out-of-State exam (and Aerial exam, if required) and service of process
filing, non-resident license applicants may submit an application packet. This packet must contain a completed
application and license fee along with a copy of your current out-of-state license (front and back), letter of good
standing, and your proof of financial responsibility*.
e The feeis $85 for the Montana commercial pesticide license.
Note: There is also a fee for operators (employees) operating under the supervision of the commercial
applicator and their license. This fee is $25 each for the first two operators and $10 each for each additional
subsequent operator. Operators may not make pesticide applications further than 100 miles away from the
licensed applicator.
There is no fee for salespeople listed under the dealer's license.

Once a Montana reciprocal license is acquired, the correct license fees, a copy of your current active out-of-state
license (front and back), and a letter of good standing must be submitted each year with your renewal application.
As long as a non-resident licensee maintains their out-of-state license and completes their state’s required
continuing education, the MDA will honor and accept that certification to meet the education requirements of the
Montana pesticide license as approved to meet Montana licensing criteria.
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