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2021 MONTANA HEMP PILOT PROGRAM PLAN 
Version 1.1 - January 30, 2021 

 

PURPOSE 
This document outlines Montana’s 2021 State Hemp Pilot Program policies and procedures to license, monitor 
the growing locations of and regulate Montana’s hemp as an agricultural crop to ensure compliance with state 
regulations and the Agriculture Improvement Act (Farm Bill) of 2014 until January 2022, or until Montana 
adopts its U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) approved plan.  This plan includes many of the requirements 
listed in the 2018 Farm Bill and USDA’s Final Rule.   
 
This State Plan does not apply to hemp grown within the boundaries of tribal reservations.  Any person 
interested in growing hemp on tribal ground, whether a tribal member or not, must seek approval with their 
resident tribe, where applicable, or the USDA. 

 
AUTHORITY 
Title 80, Chapter 18, Sections 101 - 111, Montana Code Annotated, the Administrative Rules of Montana, 
Chapter 4.19.101 - 202, and the 2014 Farm Bill.  Montana State does not have authority over hemp grown 
within the boundaries of tribal reservations. 
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1. DEFINITIONS 
1. AOSCA: The Association of Official Seed Certifying Agencies is an organization of agencies that 

provide internationally recognized seed certification. 
2. Certified: as it relates to certification of seed, certification from AOSCA, OECD or another 

department recognized official certifying agency that the variety of hemp is true to its genetic traits 
and testing has been completed to determine compliance in regard to THC levels. 

3. Crop: a group of plants or Lots in a similar stage of growth that will be harvested within the same 
allowed time-frame period (e.g., 3 weeks).  Example: plants or Lots that cannot be sampled 
(relative to harvest) at the same time as other plants or Lots would be considered a separate Crop. 

4. Hemp Variety Category A: varieties formally approved (produced from “certified” seed and 
previously grown in Montana) by the department. 

5. Hemp Variety Category B: certified (but not previously grown in Montana) varieties approved by 
other states or countries at a level equivalent to the department’s standard. 

6. Hemp Variety Category C: all other hemp varieties that an applicant reasonably believes will not 
produce a plant with over 0.3% Total THC at any time prior to harvest and are not in Category D. 

7. Hemp Variety Category D: includes all varieties forbidden by any federal law or regulation or added 
by rule by the Department because of its inability to consistently produce hemp. 

8. Indoor Grow: hemp plants started, grown, and harvested inside a structure, whether under natural 
light or using artificial light conditions to manipulate the flowering stage of hemp. 

9. Lot: a contiguous or immediate adjoining area of a field or fields, an area containing the same 
variety or strain of hemp throughout and having a post-sampling harvest window of 3 weeks.  Lots 
must be tracked by the grower from planting through harvest and until the plant is no longer in a 
raw, unaltered state. 

10. Measurement of Uncertainty: the range of possible values within which the true value of the 
measurement lies.  
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11. OECD: The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development Seed Schemes are rules used 
by 58 participating countries to certify and label seed for varietal purity for international 
movement.  

12. Outdoor Grow: hemp plants grown and harvested outside under natural light conditions; for the 
purpose of reporting, includes plants started under greenhouse conditions and transplanted to 
outdoor conditions. 

13. Strain: a term used to differentiate cultivars of Cannabis that have not formally been classified as a 
variety. 

14. Variety: a taxonomic category that ranks below subspecies (where present) or species, its members 
differing from others of the same subspecies or species in minor but permanent or heritable 
characteristics. 

 
 

2. LICENSING & FEES 
The hemp license application period is January through May 30.  Licenses are valid until December 31 
of the issuance year.  The application, applicable documentation, and fees must be postmarked prior 
to the deadline in order to obtain a license.  Licenses cannot be assigned or transferred. 

 
The department issues hemp licenses in (2) two progressive stages.  Upon approval of the initial 
application, eligible applicants will be issued a Planting Permit (see Report 11.1 - Planting Permit 
certificate) so they may purchase seed or live plants and seed or transplant hemp. To receive full 
licensure, the applicant must submit a Planting Report confirming information about the crop that was 
planted. Successful candidates will be issued the second stage Production License (see Report 11.2 - 
Production License certificate). The Production License allows for the production, harvest, and 
transportation of compliant hemp, including processing of hemp grown under the license.   
 
License Application, Stage 1 
The initial license application stage requires entity information, key participant information, 
verification of seed/live plant source, and crop information as outlined below. Additional requirements 
include payment in full of the nonrefundable application fee, and a signature acknowledging the 
Attestation Statement as well as the Risk Acknowledgment Statement.  
 
Applicant Information:  
The application (see Form 10.1 - Hemp License Application) must be legible and completed in its 
entirety. If the applicant is a business, the Business License Number on file with the Montana Secretary 
of State’s (SOS) office must be provided as well as an EIN number. A Business Name is only required if 
you are licensing a registered business.  
 
Key Participants:  
The License Application must include the full name and title of each person defined as a Key Participant 
- “a person or persons who have a direct or indirect financial interest in the entity producing hemp, 
such as an owner or partner in a partnership. A key participant also includes a person in a corporate 
entity at executive levels including the chief executive officer, chief operating officer, and chief 
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financial officer. This does not include other management positions like farm, field, or shift managers”. 
 
Background Checks: 
Due to restricted access to obtain fingerprint documentation caused by the COVID-19 emergency, the 
Montana Department of Agriculture waives the requirement for FBI Identity History Summary 
documentation for all 2021 hemp license applicants and Key Participants. This does not exempt 
applicants from the federal requirement of having no prior convictions of felony drug charges in the 
last 10 years. 
 
Seed/Live Plant Source and Verification: 
All varieties that meet the definitions of Category A, B, or C are allowed for planting. See Appendix A - 
2021 Seed/Clone Variety List for information regarding Montana’s hemp variety classifications.  Each 
variety of hemp will be reviewed by the department prior to issuance of the Hemp Planting Permit.  
The application must include for each variety or strain the quantity of land area requested to be 
permitted, the grow type, the name and license number of the seed provider or nursery from which 
you obtained plants, and an indication of purchase: Seed or Live Plants.  A copy of the seed label is 
required for each Category A and B variety.  For Category C strains, a copy of the seed label or the 
Certificate of Analysis (COA) is required.  
 
Variety or strain and location changes made after the application is processed will be subject to a 
$50/request change fee.  Contact Mikayla Moore to request the Change Request form. 
 
The person providing seed and/or live plants to the grower must be licensed to distribute into the 
state: seed providers must be licensed in Montana; nurseries must be licensed in their resident state. 
Growers who purchase live plants must submit a copy of the provider’s resident state hemp license 
and verification of variety/strain (nursery label, seed label or COA) and be aware of live plant 
importation requirements.   
 
Fees:  
The fees collected must be commensurate with operating the program.  All fees must be deposited to 
the credit of the state special revenue fund for use by the department for administering and enforcing 
the program.  A check, money order or credit/debit card payment must be submitted along with the 
application for it to be processed.   
 
Licensees who plant a Category C strain are required to pay the $1,100 fee.  This fee includes the initial 
inspection and testing of the first Category C sample.  An additional $250 testing fee will be required 
for each additional sample and an additional $250 inspection/sampling fee will be required for each 
additional inspection.   
 
Licensees who plant only Category A or B varieties are required to pay the $850 fee.  The initial 
inspection fee and the first sample testing fee is waived under Montana’s Pilot Program.  Additional 
inspection and testing fees will apply as outlined above. 
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Regardless of Category planted, growers who request sampling (e.g., insurance claim) will be charged 
the standard $250 inspection fee and the standard $250 testing fee.  The department may assess a 
processing fee of $100 for any late or incomplete documentation associated with the licensing process 
and a change fee of $50 for a request for each new variety/strain or location associated with a 
previously processed license application.   
 
Application Submission: 
Applications must be mailed to Montana Department of Agriculture-Hemp Program, PO Box 200201, 
Helena, MT 59620-0201.  Applications will not be processed until all required information is received.     
 
License Application, Stage 2 
To receive full licensure, the applicant must submit a Planting Report (see Form 10.2 - Hemp Planting 
Report) confirming final information about the planted crop. Successful candidates will be issued the 
Production License, allowing for the production, harvest, and transportation of compliant hemp, and 
providing verification of location(s) and variety/strain(s) of hemp for growing, transporting and for sale 
purposes.  
 
Report Submission Guidance:  
If a grower has multiple plantings per year separated by more than 4-weeks, multiple Planting Reports 
will be required.   Within 4 weeks of planting seeds, receiving starter-plants, or rooting of clones, the 
permit holder must submit a Planting Report.  Plants that are never intended to be harvested must also 
be reported, including mother plants and plants that are intended to be sold as live plants.   
 
Fees: 
No fees are required with the Planting Report.  Any additional inspection or testing fees will be 
invoiced after the testing has been completed. 
 
A license holder that requires multiple sampling events (due to extended or multiple harvest dates, 
lack of or incorrect harvest date reporting, or requests for subsequent Lot sampling) will be charged 
$250 per sample, regardless of the variety Category. 
 
Additional Licensing Information: 

• The Planting Report is due as outlined on the form.  Late submissions are subject to a late fee. 

• Growers intending to sell live plants must conform with the Appendix B - Sale of Live Plant 
Policy. 

• To add, change or update a variety, strain or location intended for planting, a licensee must 
submit the department's amendment request form (see Form 10.3 - Hemp Change Request), 
pay the change request fee and receive department approval.  

• A licensee must report any changes to contact information listed on the licensee’s application 
form within 10 days of the change by emailing the department at hempinfo@mt.gov. 

• License holders with unpaid testing fees from a previous year are ineligible for subsequent 
hemp license(s). 

mailto:hempinfo@mt.gov
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• Any applicant that does not meet the conditions of the Production License will forfeit their 
Planting Permit and the crop will require destruction. Harvesting hemp without a state issued 
Production license is a violation of state and federal law. 

 
Research License Component 
The department will implement a ‘research’ license component for hemp in 2021.  This license will be 
in addition to the regular ‘commercial’ license requirement for growing hemp.  In the context of this 
license, ‘research’ means “growing hemp in a manner which the resulting hemp may not conform to 
the USDA guidelines in some manner. This includes but is not limited to the use of a pesticide not 
approved for hemp, efforts to lower a cultivar’s THC level through hybridization, or development of 
new cultivars which are not from certified seed.  Research must be conducted with the intent of 
improving or expanding upon the genetics and/or cultivation practices of hemp”. 
 
Not every person who wants to experiment or conduct research with hemp varieties will require a 
Research License. If a person is interested or believes they require the Research License, contact Hemp 
Program personnel to discuss your operation and plans. Forms to apply for this license will not be 
available on the department’s website, but illustrations can be found in Section 12 - Research License 
Forms and Reports. 
 
Hemp plants and plant parts: 

1. cannot enter commerce; 
2. cannot be used for personal use or gain; 
3. can only be grown indoors unless granted an exception from the department; 
4. can only be grown with the goal of establishing improved hemp genetics or other legitimate 

purposes approved by the department; 
5. must be tracked and reported to the department beginning with the license application and 

throughout the licensing year; and 
6. shall be destroyed, other than seed for propagation used for further research and potential 

future genetics. 
 
All research findings must be reported to the department.  The THC testing of research plants is the 
responsibility of the license holder.  Proven and established varieties must be approved by the 
department before entering a non-research phase and entering commerce. 
 

3. REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 
Harvest Notification - Each license holder is responsible for contacting the department a minimum of 
30 days prior to harvest to confirm actual harvest date and schedule a pre-harvest inspection.  Crops 
harvested without notification of harvest, regardless of Category, are subject to destruction.  Crops 
harvested later than the time allowed after official sampling are also subject to destruction.  Crops that 
are not harvested within the time frame allowed after official samples are collected may result in 
additional sampling with the license holder being responsible for additional fees and a non-compliance. 
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FSA Reporting - Each license holder is required to report their hemp growing locations and acreage to 
the USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA).  Information on this requirement can be found in USDA’s Final 
Rule at https://www.ams.usda.gov/rules-regulations/hemp or by contacting your county FSA office.  A 
complete list of Montana local FSA offices can be found at  https://www.fsa.usda.gov/state-
offices/Montana/index. 
 
Each licensee must annually submit an Annual Hemp Harvest/Distribution Report (see Form 10.4) 
listing the harvest and sale or distribution of any hemp grown by the licensee.  The report must 
include: 

• name and address of the person receiving the hemp,  

• quantity of harvested area (i.e., acres or plants) 

• crop yield (i.e., pounds/acre or plants/Lot) 

• the form of the product sold or distributed, listed as: 
o Grain, used primarily as a food 
o Seed, used for further propagation 
o Flower, buds of the plant  
o Stalk, stem of plants with or without fan leaves (containing no flowers) intended for  

use in the fiber industry 
o Whole plant, entire plant not including the roots 

 
A licensee must keep all records related to the planting, growing, harvesting, storage, destruction, 
distribution, sale and/or processing of hemp, and make those records available for inspection for a 
minimum of three years. 
 
 

4. INSPECTIONS & SAMPLING 
The department will conduct inspections and perform sampling of hemp as outlined in Appendix C - 
2021 Inspection and Sampling Guidance, (Version 1.1-01/28/2021), along with associated forms. 
 
With the issuance of USDA’s Final Rule, AMS has determined that requiring a 15-day post-sample 
harvest window may place undue strain on state resources and believes that an extension to a post-
sample harvest window of 30 days would provide producers with a beneficial flexibility to adjust to 
unforeseen weather events and complicated harvest processes.  Although the department realizes 
this may be needed on a case-by-case basis and will implement as necessary, it believes our current 
3-week pre-harvest sampling window provides for a more uniform sampling process and more 
accurate testing of hemp crops.  The department will use 3 weeks as the standard pre-harvest 
sampling window in 2021.  
 
 

5. LABORATORY TESTING 
The department utilizes the Montana State University Analytical Lab located in Bozeman, MT for 
official state hemp sample testing.  The Montana State Hemp Pilot Program recognizes the 2018 Farm 

https://www.ams.usda.gov/rules-regulations/hemp
https://www.fsa.usda.gov/state-offices/Montana/index
https://www.fsa.usda.gov/state-offices/Montana/index
https://agr.mt.gov/Portals/168/Documents/IndustrialHemp/2021_AppdxC_HempInspectionSamplingGuidanceV1.1_01282021.pdf?ver=2021-02-01-141837-917
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Bill testing methodology that requires using a post-decarboxylation method, which includes the 
calculation of THCA for a measurement of Total Delta9-THC on a dry weight basis.  The department 
uses the lab’s official Measurement of Uncertainty (MU) of 0.0453% in its determination of compliance 
regarding Total THC levels of concentration.  Official test results will be reported on Report 11.3 - 
Hemp Sample Lab Report. 
 
% Total Delta9-THC = %Delta9-THC + (%Delta9-THCA x 0.8772)  
 
Jona Verreth, Laboratory Bureau Chief 
McCall Hall, Montana State University 
PO Box 173620 
Bozeman, MT 59717-3620 
Phone: (406) 577-7918 
E-mail: JVerreth@mt.gov  
 
The laboratory is a DEA-registered lab in regard to cannabis testing, is accredited to ISO/IEC 17025 for 
the specific tests listed on A2LA Certificate Number 2694.01.  The laboratory is certified in forage 
analysis by NFTA. 
 
 

6. INVOICING FOR ADDITIONAL SAMPLING & TESTING 
The fees for additional inspections and samples tested will be invoiced to each license holder after 
testing is completed. Invoices are due upon receipt.  An unpaid balance of more than 30 days is subject 
to a $100 late fee.  Non-payment may result in ineligibility of future licensure. 

 
 
7. ENFORCEMENT 

For determining the “acceptable hemp THC level” in regard to compliance, the department uses its 
official Measurement of Uncertainty (MU) of 0.0453% in addition to the standard 0.3% Total THC level 
of concentration allowance.  Example calculations are as follows: 

• Compliant: a result of 0.3503 +/- MU of 0.0453 = range of 0.305 to 0.3956 (0.305 rounds to 0.30) 

• Violation: a result of 0.3504 +/- MU of 0.0453 = range of 0.306 to 0.3957 (0.306 rounds to 0.31, 
which is greater than the allowable 0.3%) 

 
For violations regarding Total THC levels of official samples, the department will utilize the procedures 
and guidance outlined in Appendix D - Mitigation Guidance.  The following reports will be used to 
notify license holders of sample results and, as applicable, any compliance issues: 

• Report 11.4 - Hemp Sample Results letter, Information 

• Report 11.5 - Hemp Sample Results letter, Affidavit 
o Form 10.5 - Hemp Affidavit 

• Report 11.6 - Hemp Sample Results letter, Corrective Action Plan 

• Report 11.7 - Hemp Sample Results letter, Destruction 



 

2021 Montana Hemp Pilot Program Plan Page 9 of 36 Ver 1.1-01/30/2021 

For any violation of state or federal regulations regarding hemp, the department has the responsibility 
to determine whether the violation will be treated as negligent or greater than negligent. 
 
For negligent violations, the department will require a corrective action plan for the producer. The 
producer shall comply with the corrective action plan to cure the negligent violation. Corrective action 
plans will be in place for a minimum of two (2) years from the date of their approval.  If a subsequent 
violation occurs while a corrective action plan is in place, a new corrective action plan must be 
submitted with a heightened level of quality control, staff training, and quantifiable action measures.  
Any person whose violation is not corrected as outlined in the Corrective Action Plan may have their 
license(s) suspended or terminated after 30 days written notice.   
 
Examples of violations the department may consider as Negligent include:  

• Failure to provide, or accurately provide, a legal description of the land on which the producer 
produces hemp, 

• Failure to obtain a hemp license, 

• Failure to maintain required records, 

• Failure to submit required and accurate information, 

• Conducting harvest later than the time allowed post sampling without prior approval, and 

• Produce Cannabis with a Total THC concentration of greater than 1.0% on a dry weight basis. 
 
A producer who negligently violates this plan three times in a five-year period will be ineligible to 
produce hemp for a period of five years from the date of the third violation. A Negligent violation will 
not be subject to criminal enforcement action by the federal, tribal, state, or local government.   
 
For violations made with a culpable mental state greater than negligence1, the department will notify 
the respondent, report the respondent to the US Attorney General, the Montana Attorney General and 
the local law enforcement agency, and begin proceedings for suspension of licensure.  Corrective 
action plans are not available for these violations.  Findings of a violation greater than negligent will 
result in revocation of licensure.   
______________________ 

1 - “Culpable mental state greater than negligence” is a term used in the 2018 Farm Bill to 
determine when certain actions would be subject to specific compliance actions. This term 
means to act intentionally, knowingly, willfully, recklessly, or with criminal negligence. 

 
Examples of violations the department may consider greater than negligent include: 

• Three negligent violations in a five-year period, 

• Failure to disclose a conviction of a felony relating to a controlled substance under State or 
Federal law within the past 10 years while possessing a state hemp license, 

• Failure to obtain a hemp license, 

• Materially falsifying information, and 

• Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly producing hemp greater than 1.0% Total THC on a dry 
weight basis. 
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Penalty Matrix     
All violations of Montana’s Hemp Plan are considered violations of state regulations and will be 
recorded as a discrepancy against the license holder.  Per federal regulations, a maximum of one strike 
per calendar year can be issued to an entity who violated state or federal regulations.  A violation may 
be considered a violation greater than negligent.  Each violation may be considered separately.   
 
In determining violations, the department will consider the nature of the violation, the outcome 
of the violation, and any harm, financial or health, resulting from the violation.  The department 
will weigh and consider the standard of care that a reasonably prudent person would have 
exercised in a similar situation when determining whether a violation was committed with a 
culpable mental state greater than negligence and assigning penalties.   Such violations may be 
subject to other state, tribal or federal regulatory action.  
 

Additionally, the department provides the following as guidance for distinguishing violations and 
strikes: 

• A single violation may be considered as a single strike  

• Multiple violations of the same nature occurring simultaneously may be combined and 
considered as a single strike  

• Multiple violations, whether of the same or differing nature, occurring subsequently in 
the same calendar year where the offender had the opportunity to correct the 
circumstances of the violation will be considered as multiple violations and considered a 
single strike 

• Official lab results from an official sample not greater than 0.5% Total THC is considered 
within the safe harbor range and is not considered a violation or a strike 

• Official lab results from an official sample greater than 0.5% but not greater than 1.0% 
Total THC is a violation but is not considered a strike 

• Official lab results from an official sample greater than 1.0% Total THC is a violation and is 
considered a strike 

• Official lab results of multiple samples representing multiple Lots of the same 
variety/strain grown as a concurrent crop may be combined to represent a single 
violation and a single strike 

• Official lab results of multiple samples representing multiple Lots of the same 
variety/strain grown as a subsequent crop may be considered as multiple violations and a 
single strike 

• Official lab results of multiple samples representing multiple Lots of different 
varieties/strains will be considered as multiple violations and a single strike 

• Planting or propagation of hemp without the proper licensing is considered a single strike 

• Failure to maintain or submit accurate records as required is considered a single strike 

• Conducting harvest without proper notification is considered a single strike 

• Conducting harvest later than the allowed time frame after official sampling is 
considered a single strike 

 
An administrative hearing or informal appeal under MAPA is available if a party timely chooses to 
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dispute either level of violation or the corrective action plan.  The department may reinstate the 
license if good cause is shown and the reinstatement fees are paid. 
 
Corrective Action Plans  
For any negligent violation, the license holder must submit a written proposal to correct, dispose of 
and/or destroy the non-compliant hemp to the department within 15-business days of notification of 
the violation.  The proposal form (see Form 10.6 - Proposal for Correction/Disposal/Destruction) must 
include, but is not limited to, a list of responsible parties, a reasonable time frame in which the 
resolution will be implemented, all information necessary to prove compliance, the location, the Lot 
number, Lot size, variety/strain of hemp, and equipment and method used.  Upon approval, the 
department will issue and require signatures on a Corrective Action Plan, see Report 11.8 - Hemp 
Corrective Action Plan (template).  Resolution must be completed within the timeframe outlined in the 
plan. 
 
Allowable Corrective Action Plans include: 

• Removal and destruction of THC by a Montana licensed hemp processor in Montana 

• Removal and destruction of non-compliant plant parts (e.g., flowers) and sale or distribution of 
salvageable plant parts (e.g., fiber). 

 
All violations will be documented and the respondent notified in formal correspondence, see Report 
11.9 - Notice of Violation as a template of enforcement proceedings. 
 
 

8. DISPOSAL/DESTRUCTION OF HEMP  
Any disposal or destruction of hemp, whether voluntary or by order of the department must comply 
with state procedures. The license holder is responsible for assuring the non-compliant hemp plant or 
plant parts are rendered into a non-retrievable or non-ingestible form and is non-viable for further 
propagation, distribution, or sale. The license holder is responsible for the control of volunteer plants 
of hemp in following years.  The license holder must notify the local sheriff’s office of any destruction 
or disposal process. 
 
Examples of reasons the department will require destruction include: 

• A lack of records indicating the hemp was produced by a licensee or on a registered growing 
site, 

• Lack of control by the license holder, 

• Total THC level exceeding 1.0% on a dry weight basis, and 

• Total THC level exceeding 0.5% on a dry weight basis without an approved Corrective Action 
Plan for remediating the hemp into a compliant commodity. 

 
Options of allowed disposal/destruction methods include, but are not limited to: 

• plowing under, disking, or composting a crop into green manure for use on the same land,  

• chopping or mowing a crop and incorporated into the soil on the same land, 
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• deep burial of plants or plant parts, and 

• devitalization or sterilization of seed (devitalized seed can be sold as grain), 
o Options include: 

▪ Steam Heat – The use of steam for rendering seed or grain non-viable requires 
that the seed lot be homogenous and that all parts of the seed lot be subjected 
uniformly and continuously to steam heat for a minimum of 15 minutes. The 
entire lot must be exposed to live steam. If subsequent testing shows that the lot 
is not 100% non-viable, the process must be repeated. 

▪ Infra-Red Radiation – Industrial Hemp can be rendered non-viable through an 
infra-red cooking process. This is accomplished by first tempering the seed to a 
moisture content of 13 to 14 percent. The seed is then heated using natural gas 
generated infra-red energy of a wavelength of 1.8 to 3.2 microns. The seed must 
be heated to a minimum temperature of 230 degrees Fahrenheit. The seed flow 
rate must be set to assure that the time of cooking includes heating time from 
ambient to treatment temperature, and that treatment time is sufficient to 
result in non-viable seed. If subsequent testing shows that the lot is not 100% 
non-viable, the process must be repeated. 

 
For crops, plants or plant parts that are required to be disposed of or destroyed by the department, 
the grower must submit Form 10.6 - Proposal for Correction/Disposal/Destruction providing applicable 
information for approval prior to disposal/destruction.  Additional requirements include submission of 
pictures showing proof of destruction and a form signed by an independent third party verifying the 
witness visually observed the disposal/destruction, see Form 10.7 - Witness Statement. 
 
The department must submit a monthly report to USDA of any destruction occurrence of non-
compliant plants or plant parts. The report shall contain the following information:  

• Name and address of the license holder,  

• License or authorization identifier,  

• Location information (e.g., lot number, location type and geospatial location), 

• Test results,  

• Information on the person handling the disposal,  

• Disposal completion date, and 

• Total grow area.  
 
 

9. APPENDICES - Illustrated for reference on pages 13 through 15.  Actual documents required by an 

applicant can be found on the department’s hemp webpage at https://agr.mt.gov/Industrial-Hemp.  
 
 
 
 
 

https://agr.mt.gov/Industrial-Hemp
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Appendix A - 2021 Hemp Seed/Clone Variety List 
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Appendix B - Sale of Live Plants Policy 
 

 
 
 
Appendix C - 2021 Inspection and Sampling Guidance  
(not available for illustration, click here to see complete document) 
 
 

https://agr.mt.gov/Portals/168/Documents/IndustrialHemp/2021_AppdxC_HempInspectionSamplingGuidanceV1.1_01282021.pdf?ver=2021-02-01-141837-917
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Appendix D - Mitigation Guidance 
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10. LICENSE FORMS - Illustrated for reference on pages 16 through 22.  Forms with complete 

Instructions can be found on the department’s hemp webpage. 
 
 10.1 Hemp License Application (Stage 1) 
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 10.2 Hemp Planting Report (Stage 2) 
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10.3 Hemp Change Request 
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10.4 Annual Hemp Harvest/Distribution Report 
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10.5 Hemp Affidavit 
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10.6 Proposal for Correction/Disposal/Destruction 
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10.7 Witness Statement 
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11. LETTERS and REPORTS - Illustrated for reference on pages 23 through 31. 
 

11.1 Planting Permit certificate  
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11.2 Production License certificate 
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11.3 Hemp Sample Lab Report 
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11.4 Hemp Sample Results letter, Informational 
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 11.5 Hemp Sample Results letter, Affidavit 
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 11.6 Hemp Sample Results letter, Corrective Action Plan 
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 11.7 Hemp Sample Results letter, Destruction 
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 11.8 Hemp Corrective Action Plan (template) 
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 11.9 Notice of Violation (template) 
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12. RESEARCH LICENSE FORMS and REPORTS - Illustrated for reference on pages 32 through 36. 
 
 12.1 Hemp License Application, Research (Stage 1) 
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 12.2 Hemp Planting Permit certificate, Research  
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 12.3 Hemp Planting Report, Research (Stage 2) 
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 12.4 Hemp Research License certificate 
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 12.5 Annual Hemp Research Report 
 

 
 


