The Montana Potato Research & Market Development Program was created by a vote of potato producers following a process outlined in the Agricultural Commodity Research and Market Development Enabling Act (MCA 80-11-5).

The Potato Research & Market Development Program is administered by the Montana Department of Agriculture, which receives advice from the seven member Montana Potato Advisory Committee. The committee invites proposals to fund demonstration projects, applied research and market development projects designed to address Montana's potato industry needs and opportunities.

Montana Potato Advisory Committee

Board Members

Name Contact Info Term End Qualifications
Director, Ben Thomas Dept. of Agriculture
PO Box 200201
Helena, MT 49620
  Agriculture Director, Statutory Appointment
Jack Meyer 5200 Cameron Bridge Road
Manhattan, MT 59741
3/1/2021 Chair, Producer
Dave Cottom P.O. Box 445
Dillon, MT 59725
3/1/2020 Vice-Chair, Producer
Bill Buyan 83 Ramshor South
Sheridan, MT 59749
3/1/2020 Producer
Tim Lake 35243 Minesinger Trail
Polson, MT 59860
3/1/2021 Producer
Jonathan Schutter 3821 Wooden Shoe Road
Manhattan, MT 59741
3/1/2022 Producer
Paul Streich 295 Middle Road
Kalispell, MT 59901
3/1/2022 Producer
Tim Venhuizen 84 Midway
Manhattan, MT 59741
3/1/2020 Producer

Potato Program News

Agricultural Development Division
Phone : 406.444.2402
E-mail : agr@mt.gov
Fax : 406.444.9442
302 N Roberts
Helena, MT 59601