Divisions & Bureaus

Agricultural Development Division

The Agricultural Development Division is responsible for administering programs that promote and enhance Montana agriculture. Within the division are four bureaus: the Rural Development Bureau, the Wheat and Barley Bureau, the Agricultural Marketing and Business Development Bureau, and the Montana State Grain Laboratory Bureau. For more information see link in left menu.


Agricultural Sciences Division

The Agricultural Sciences Division provides agricultural, public and environmental services and protection through administration of the Montana laws and rules in the areas of pesticides, agricultural chemical ground water protection, noxious weed control, feeds, fertilizers, seed, grain commodity dealers, public warehousemen, nurseries, produce, mint, apiculture, alfalfa leafcutting bees, and pest management consulting, survey, and quarantines. 


Cooperative agreements with the USDA, Food and Drug Administration and Environmental Protection Agency provide services and jurisdiction in areas of interstate and international movement of plant materials, produce and feed; enforcement of FDA rules to prevent transmission of BSE disease in cattle; and the regulation of pesticide sales, use and production in Montana. For more information see link in left menu.


Central Services Division

The Central Services Division provides accounting, budgeting, computer programming, fiscal management, human resources, payroll and benefits, public information, purchasing, property control, records management, systems analysis, training, website administration and legal support to all programs within the department. For more information see link in left menu.




Montana Department of Agriculture
302 N Roberts
Helena, MT 59601
Phone: (406) 444-3144
E-mail: agr@mt.gov
Fax: (406) 444-5409


Published: Fri Oct 15 10:43:00 MDT 2010.
Last Modified: Mon Jun 13 15:55:28 MDT 2016