Montana Noxious Weed Summit Advisory Council


Advises the Governor and the Montana director of agriculture on noxious weed issues and control measures to halt or slow the spread.

Council appointments are made by the Governor. For additional information about Governor appointed Boards and Councils, see links below.


Two other councils play a separate and independent role in halting the spread of noxious weeds.  The Noxious Weed Management Advisory Council provides guidance to the Noxious Weed Trust Fund grant program that assists counties, local communities, tribes, researchers and educators.  The Noxious Weed Seed Free Forage Advisory Council advises the Department on Noxious Weed Seed Free Forage issues regarding the forage certification program, forage advertising, and the use of Noxious Weed Seed Free Forage on federal/state lands.



Upcoming  meetings:

Noxious Weed Summit Advisory Council Meeting






Board members

Name City Term End Qualifications
Ron de Yong MT Dept. of Agriculture
P.O. Box 200201
Helena, MT 59620
  Chairperson, Governor's Representative
Doug Dupuis PO BOX
Pablo, MT 59855
7/26/2015 Tribal Representative
Scott Bockness 3319 King Ave. East
Billings, MT 59470
7/26/2015 Montana Weed Control Association
Sarese Pankratz PO Box 100
Dodson, MT 59524
7/26/2014 Irrigation District
Dave Burch Department of Agriculture
PO Box 200201
Helena, MT 59620
7/26/2015 Department of Agriculture Representative
Kevin Chappell Department of Resources
PO Box 201601
Helena, MT 59620-1601
6/30/2015 DNRC Representative
Jim Ghekiere P.O. Box 451
Chester, MT 59522
7/26/2015 County Weed District
Jerry Marks 2825 Santa Fe Court
Missoula, MT 59808
7/26/2015 MSU Extension Representative
Celestine Duncan PO Box 1385
Helena, MT 59624
7/26/2015 Crop Protection Product Industry
Lindy Garner US Fish & Wildlife Service
922 Bootlegger Trail
Great Falls, MT 59404
7/26/2014 Federal Agency Representative
Dave Schulz PO Box 278
Virginia City, MT 59755
7/26/2015 Montana Association of Counties
Tracy Sterling Montana State University
PO Box 173120
Bozeman, MT 59717
7/26/2014 MSU Ag Experiment Station Representative





Dave Burch

Weed Program Manager
Montana Department of Agriculture
302 N Roberts
Helena, MT 59601
Phone: (406) 444-3140
Fax: (406) 444-9493


Published: Mon Sep 26 14:22:00 MDT 2011.
Last Modified: Wed Feb 03 16:51:12 MST 2016