Agriculture Development Council Meeting Minutes

March 13, 2023

I. Call to order

Chair John Wicks called to order the meeting of the Agriculture Development Council at 2:01 pm on Tuesday March 13, 2023.

II. Roll call

Dani Jones conducted roll call and introductions were made by council members and department staff.

Council Members: Chair John Wicks, Megan Hedges, Lars Hanson, Sara Hollenbeck, Department of Commerce Director Scott Osterman, and Zach Coccoli, proxy for Director Christy Clark.

Department Employees: Andy Fjeseth, Bailey Kaskie, Aly Townsend, Caitlin Hortert, and Dani Jones.

Members of the public: Andrea Dupuis, Nicole

III. Public Comment

Chair John Wicks called for public comment. There were no comments from the public.

IV. Cold Spring Organics

Nate Powell-Palm with Cold Spring Organics reached out to Bailey Kaskie about the award information that was provided to him. He would like to negotiate the loan terms. Nate is asking for a 1.5% APR 7-year term, with 2 years deferred would be possible. Lars Hanson made the motion to accept the terms as presented. Zach Coccoli 2nd the motion. All in favor, motion passed.

V. YES Compost LLC

After reviewing the council's critique of the presentation Karl with YES Compost asked the council to reconsider his application. The council discussed some options. John Wicks was leaning towards the loan option with 0% interest, Lars Hanson and Megan Hedges were staying with his original decision, Scott Osterman shared that I could be risky on both side, Sara Hollenbeck and Zach Coccoli would both be ok with a low interest loan. Megan shared that she would be ok with moving to loan funding if it was available. Sara Hollenbeck made the motion to award a loan at 1.5% interest rate for 7-years after 2 years deferred. Zach Coccoli 2nd the motion. Lars Hanson and Scott Osterman opposed the motion. Motion passed 4-2

VI. FADC RFP

Aly Townsend reminded the council that the applications opened March 1st. The department will prescreen the applications and then pass them to the council. No videos will be done because of the detailed applications.

VII. Next Meeting- February 2023

The next council meeting is set for Friday June 9th in Lewistown MT.

VIII. Public Comment

Chair John Wicks called for public comment. There were no comments from the public.

IX. Adjournment

Director Scott Osterman made the motion to adjourn the meeting at 2:37pm. The meeting was adjourned.

Minutes submitted by: Dani Jones

Minutes approved by: Andy Fjeseth