Montana Department of Agriculture logo

Upcoming Food Safety Trainings

Produce Safety Plan Workshops Offered in March

March 2-3 in Billings, March 6-7 in Corvallis and March 9-10 in Kalispell

Produce Safety Plan Workshops Offered in March

Helena, Mont. – Fresh produce farmers will receive training and help developing their on-farm food safety Good Agricultural Practices (GAP) plans in three locations throughout Montana this March. The On-Farm Food Safety GAP Workshops will guide participants through the plan writing process. The workshops will be led by food safety experts Nancy Matheson, David Wise, and Jonda Crosby, and will be held March 2-3 in Billings, March 6-7 in Corvallis and March 9-10 in Kalispell.

Montana Legislature - Look up bill information for the 2017 session

Montana Legislature - Look up bill information for the 2017 session
Are you interested in bills at the 2017 Montana Legislature that may affect agriculture? Use the Montana Legislative Branch's online LAWS website to look up current bill information.

 

MDA Organic Certification Program
Phone : (406) 444-7804
E-mail : agrorganic@mt.gov
Fax : (406) 444-9466
302 N Roberts
Helena, MT 59601

PLEASE NOTE: Livestock forms are being revised for 2017! Please contact the Organic Program office for more information.

Guidelines for Completing & Submitting Forms

  • Microsoft Word and Excel documents can be completed electronically for mailing or emailing, but have larger file sizes and slower download times.
  • Most of the Adobe (PDF) documents also can be completed electronically for mailing or emailing and have smaller files sizes and faster download times. Note: PDF documents require Adobe Reader or similar application for viewing. Download a free version of Adobe Reader.
  • Forms may be printed and filled out by hand.
  • Remember that you should retain a copy of all forms submitted for your records for 5 years.

 

Organic Producer Application Forms - Required for Certification
Organic Producer System Plan - Required for Certification
Organic Land Application Forms

We can now take debit card/credit card payments over the phone. Please call (406) 444-7804 to make a payment.
New producer applications may be submitted at any time and are not subject to the late fee.

Application Fees (submitted with the application)

Download the Producer Application Fee Schedule as an MS Word document or as a PDF document.

  • Base Fee
    • Operations with gross Organic sales charges less than $20,000: $600
    • Operations with gross Organic sales charges of $20,001 - 40,000: $700
    • Operations with gross Organic sales charges of $40,001-100,000: $800
    • Operations with gross Organic sales charges of $100,001-250,000: $900
    • Operations with gross Organic sales charges of $250,001-500,000: $1,000
    • Operations with gross Organic sales charges of $500,001-1,000,000: $1,250
    • Operations with gross Organic sales charges greater than $1,000,000: $1,500
  • Producer/Handler Allowance (if applying for both categories) subtract: -$115
  • New Application Credit (for first-time applicants) subtract: -$100
  • Late Fee: $200 for renewals after March 15
    • Applications to renew producer certification are due by March 15th annually.
    • An additional $100 late fee applies for each additional month past April 15th.
Assessment Fees

Certified Producer operations pay an annual assessment fee based on their level of gross annual sales of organic products. Assessments are charged according to the following schedule:

  • Operations must pay a minimum assessment fee of: $150
  • Operations must pay: 0.5% of sales
  • Operations will pay a maximum of: $5,000
Inspection Fees

Billed at cost of service, plus 10% administrative fee.

Miscellaneous Fees
  • Expedited Services Fee: A surcharge of up to $1,000 may be charged for expedited services depending on the speed, time of year, and resources required. The department may set pricing standards within department policy.

The department shall assess a Collection Fee of 18% annual percentage rate or a minimum fee of $25, whichever is greater, for any un-paid balances not received on or before the last regular business day of the month. The department may require payment of past-due fees prior to providing certification services.

Organic Handler Application Forms - Required for Certification
Organic Handler System Plan - Required for Certification
Organic Handler Product Profiles - Required for Certification
Organic Handler Labeling Information

We can now take debit card/credit card payments over the phone. Please call (406) 444-7804 to make a payment.
New producer applications may be submitted at any time and are not subject to the late fee.

Application Fees (submitted with the application)

Download the Handler Application Fee Schedule as an MS Word document or as a PDF document.

  • Base Fee
    • Operations with gross Organic sales/handling charges less than $20,000: $600
    • Operations with gross Organic sales/handling charges of $20,001 - 40,000: $700
    • Operations with gross Organic sales/handling charges of $40,001-100,000: $800
    • Operations with gross Organic sales/handling charges of $100,001-250,000: $900
    • Operations with gross Organic sales/handling charges of $250,001-500,000: $1,000
    • Operations with gross Organic sales/handling charges of $500,001-1,000,000: $1,250
    • Operations with gross Organic sales/handling charges greater than $1,000,000: $1,500
  • Producer/Handler Allowance (if applying for both categories) subtract: -$115
  • New Application Credit (for first-time applicants) subtract: -$100
  • Late Fee: $200 for renewals after September 15
    • Applications to renew handler certification are due by September 15th annually.
    • An additional $100 late fee applies for each additional month past October 15th.
Assessment Fees

Certified Handling operations pay an annual assessment fee based on their level of gross annual sales of and handling charges for organic products. Assessments are charged according to the following schedule:

  • Operations must pay a minimum assessment fee of: $150
  • Operations must pay: 0.5% of sales
  • Operations will pay a maximum of: $5,000
Inspection Fees

Billed at cost of service, plus 10% administrative fee.

Miscellaneous Fees
  • Product Profile Review Fee for each new/revised label: $35
  • Expedited Services Fee: A surcharge of up to $1,000 may be charged for expedited services depending on the speed, time of year, and resources required. The department may set pricing standards within department policy.

The department shall assess a Collection Fee of 18% annual percentage rate or a minimum fee of $25, whichever is greater, for any un-paid balances not received on or before the last regular business day of the month. The department may require payment of past-due fees prior to providing certification services.

Organic Land Application Forms
Also Required for Land Certification for New Producers

We can now take debit card/credit card payments over the phone. Please call (406) 444-7804 to make a payment.