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About eStop Licenses

Simple, convenient and secure services available online.
eStop Business Licenses Online Services (eStop.mt.gov) lets certain businesses apply or renew up to eight 
state licenses all at once with one payment.

eStop Business Licenses Offered
•	 Montana Lottery
•	 Retail food establishment
•	 Tobacco products and alternative nicotine or vapor products
•	 Beer and wine retail sales
•	 Nursery
•	 Petroleum dealer (meters)
•	 Weighing device (scales)
•	 Underground storage tanks

This method of licensing is especially convenient for grocery and convenience stores with gas pumps. 
Businesses can get food, tobacco, beer and wine, and petroleum-related licenses all at once.

Questions? Call eStop Business Licenses toll-free at (866) 859-2254 (in Helena, 444-6900), fax us at  
(406) 444-7723 or email estop@mt.gov.

Montana License Lookup
eStop Business Licenses include just eight of the hundreds of state licenses. For a comprehensive A to Z list of 
all Montana licenses visit Montana License Lookup (http://license.mt.gov)

Secretary of State
If you intend to transact business in Montana and have not registered your assumed business name with the 
Secretary of State’s office, do so before completing the eStop Business Licenses application. For assistance, 
call the Secretary of State’s office at (406) 444-3665 or visit http://sos.mt.gov/Business/index.asp. (Registration 
is not available through the eStop Licenses Program.)

eStop Contact Information
Mail correspondence, completed application forms and payments to eStop Business Licenses, c/o Montana 
Department of Revenue, PO Box 8003, Helena, MT 59604-8003.

Call eStop Business Licenses toll free at (866) 859-2254 (in Helena, 444-6900).

Fax information or requests to (406) 444-7723. 

Visit eStop.mt.gov or our office at 340 N Last Chance Gulch, Helena, Montana.

Payment Methods
●	 Pay and renew online using eStop Business Licenses Online Service.
●	 Check - Please make your check payable to eStop Business Licenses.

http://estop.mt.gov
http://sos.mt.gov/Business/index.asp
http://estop.mt.gov
https://svc.mt.gov/dor/eStopPortal/Default.aspx
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Late Fees and Penalties

Licenses are subject to late fees or penalties if payment is late.

Retail Food Establishment $25 1 day after the due date

Off-Premises Beer and Wine  33.33% 1 day after the due date
 66.66% 31 days after the due date
100% 61 days after the due date

Nursery $25 if fee is not paid by anniversary due date 
(one year from the date of issuance)

Meters - Petroleum Dealers 50% 60 days after the due date

Scales - Weighing Devices
Standard 50% 60 days after the due date
On Farm (Calendar year term) 50% penalty due after June 1

Please Note: Weighing and measuring devices may be removed from service for continued non-payment.

License Renewal Information
You will receive a renewal notice from eStop Business Licenses when it is time to renew your business 
licenses. The notice will list the licenses you currently hold, along with the cost of renewing each license.

●	 Renew online at eStop Business Licenses Online Service. You can also choose to receive your next 
renewal by email. 

If you renew on paper, be sure to complete the back page of the renewal if applicable and submit one 
payment.

●	 Mail the completed renewal form with your payment to eStop Business Licenses, c/o Montana 
Department of Revenue, PO Box 8003, Helena, MT 59604-8003.

●	 Deliver the completed renewal form and payment to eStop Business Licenses, 340 N Last Chance 
Gulch, Helena, MT.

Please note: Fees and requirements may change through the legislative process or administrative rule 
updates. Check our website at estop.mt.gov or call us toll-free at (866) 859-2254 (in Helena, 444-6900).

http://revenue.mt.gov/home/businesses/estop_licensing
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Lottery Licenses

Montana Lottery
2525 North Montana Avenue
Helena, MT 59601
444-5825
http://www.montanalottery.com

Fees 
Traditional Lottery License $50.00 one-time licensing fee
MSA License $75.00 annually

The process to become a licensed Lottery retailer begins with submitting an eStop Master Application, a 
Lottery application and submitting a $50 application fee. The next steps in the process involve information 
gathering and background checks. Once the Lottery application has been approved, the Montana Lottery will 
place a lotto terminal in the retailer’s establishment. The Lottery retailer must provide prominent space for 
the terminal and scratch ticket dispenser(s) at an agreed–upon location in the store. The Lottery’s Sales Rep 
will guide you on the best placement for the Lottery equipment. All equipment is provided by the Lottery at no 
charge to the retailer.

Becoming a Montana Lottery Retailer is Easy
Becoming a Montana Lottery Retailer is a very rewarding experience for a retailer, their customers as well as 
the state of Montana. In order to participate as a Lottery Retailer, a Lottery license is required. The Montana 
Lottery has two types of licenses available: the Traditional License and the new Montana Sports Action License 
(MSA) (the MSA licenses allow a retailer to sell Fantasy Football and Fantasy Racing).

Space Requirements for Lotto Installation
● 	 Lotto terminal 15” W x 17” D x 19” H
● 	 Printer 6 “ W x 9” D x 6” H
● 	 Scratch ticket dispenser(s) depending on scratch ticket strategy used

An electrical duplex–grounded outlet, operational 24 hours per day, and a 20-amp circuit breaker must be 
provided by the retailer. 

Lottery retailers are required to sell both terminal-generated tickets and scratch tickets and must meet or 
exceed the minimum sales requirements for a combination of terminal-generated and scratch tickets. Winning 
terminal–generated and scratch tickets are redeemed by the retailer during all hours and days the store is 
open. Retailers are responsible for paying each valid winning ticket claim of $599 or less.

To apply for a lottery license: 
●	 Complete the eStop Master Application
●	 Complete the Lottery Retailer Application 
●	 Complete the Personal Data Form 
●	 Include the EFT Authorization and a voided check 
●	 Include a W-9 Form 
●	 Read the Montana Sports Action Addendum (if applying for MSA) 
●	 Submit the necessary forms 
●	 Pay the applicable fee—$50 for traditional retailers and $75 per year for MSA retailers 
●	 Watch the customers–and the profits–roll in 

Lottery forms, requirements and more information regarding Lottery Licensing can be found at 
http://www.montanalottery.com/forms/Application.pdf.

http://www.montanalottery.com/application
http://www.montanalottery.com/forms/Application.pdf
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Retail Food Establishment License

Food and Consumer Safety Section
Department of Public Health and Human Services
PO Box 202951
Helena, MT 59620-2951
email: HHSFCS@mt.gov
http://www.dphhs.mt.gov/publichealth/fcs/

Fees

Small food establishment $85 one or two employees working at any one time
Large food establishment $115 more than two employees working at any one time

Note: A separate license is required for each location.

New Applications, Changes in Ownership, Changes in Location
1.	 Contact a registered sanitarian at your County environmental health office. Contacting your sanitarian 

early in the eStop application process could save you time and money.

2.	 Provide information requested by the registered sanitarian for review.

3.	 You will need to meet other applicable requirements, such as zoning, business licenses, fire and building 
approval.

4.	 Once plans and a pre-opening inspection has been completed and approved, the registered sanitarian will 
notify Food and Consumer Safety Section. Then your license will be issued.

5.	 A registered sanitarian must be notified for approval of any changes in the establishment affecting food 
menu items, license endorsements, location, ownership or if remodeling.

Renewals With No Changes to Existing Licenses
When the county sanitarian notifies the Food and Consumer Safety section of the approval, your license will be 
renewed.

Rules for Food Service Establishments
You can obtain rules from your local environmental health office, Food & Consumer Safety Section, or at http://
leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/50_50.htm.

http://www.dphhs.mt.gov/publichealth/fcs
http://www.dphhs.mt.gov/publichealth/phep/countytribalhealthdepts.shtml
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/50_50.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/50_50.htm
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County Sanitarians
COUNTY NAME PHONE

Beaverhead Tom Wagenknecht 406-683-3771

Big Horn Craig Taft 406-665-8724

Blaine Ron Andersen 406-868-4957

Broadwater Julie Lethert 406-266-9209

Carbon Marilyn Tapia 406-265-2770  (Yellowstone 
County)

Carter Renee Gnerer 406-853-0029

Cascade Sandy Johnson 406-791-9275

Chouteau Bob Stevenson 406-622-3016

Custer Mike Rinaldi 406-366-1424

Daniels Cam Shipp 406-228-6264

Dawson Kevin Pena 406-377-5772

Deer Lodge Karen Solberg 406-563-4067

Fallon Mike Rinaldi 406-366-1424

Fergus (CMHD) Susan Baldwin 406-535-7466

Flathead Joe Russell 406-751-8103

Gallatin Tim Roark 406-582-3120

Garfield (CMHD) Susan Baldwin 406-535-7466

Glacier Ron Andersen 406-868-4957

Golden Valley (CMHD) Susan Baldwin 406-535-7466

Granite Chad Lanes 406-563-4066

Hill Clay Vincent 406-265-5481 ext 268

Jefferson Megan Bullock 406-225-4126

Judith Basin (CMHD) Susan Baldwin 406-535-7466

Lake Susan Brueggeman 406-883-7236

Lewis & Clark Laurel Riek 406-447-8361

Liberty Karen Salo 406-279-3745

Lincoln Kathi Hooper 406-283-2440

Madison Joyce Crouse 406-843-4275

McCone Mike Rinaldi 406-366-1424

Meagher Deen Pomeroy 406-799-9979

Mineral Tim Read 406-822-3525
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County Sanitarians
COUNTY NAME PHONE

Missoula Shannon Therriault 406-258-4988

Musselshell Deen Pomeroy 406-366-0627

Park Barbara Woodbury 406-222-4145

Petroleum (CMHD) Susan Baldwin 406-535-7466

Phillips Mike Rinaldi 406-366-1424

Pondera Corrine Rose 406-271-4036

Powder River Renee Gnerer 406-287-7861

Powell Chad Lanes 406-563-4066

Prairie Mike Rinaldi 406-366-1424

Ravalli John Palacio 406-375-6568

Richland Stephanie Ler 406-433-2207

Roosevelt Ron Smith 406-765-7669

Rosebud Mike Rinaldi 406-366-1424

Sanders Shawn Sorenson 406-827-6909

Sheridan Cam Shipp 406-228-6264

Silver Bow John Rolich 406-497-5027

Stillwater Stephanie Moodry 406-322-8055

Sweet Grass Barbara Woodbury 406-222-4145

Teton Corrine Rose  406-466-2150

Toole Ron Andersen 406-868-4957

Treasure Mike Rinaldi 406-366-1424

Valley Cam Shipp 406-228-6264

Wheatland (CMHD) Susan Baldwin 406-535-7466

Wibaux Kevin Pena 406-377-5772

Yellowstone Joshua Juarez 406-651-6548

MSU - Bozeman Toots Taszut 406-994-6455

UM - Missoula Rebecca Shern 406-243-2315

This information is subject to change.
Questions? Contact the Department of Revenue at 1-866-859-2254 (444-6900, in Helena) or 406-444-0722
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Nursery License

Department of Agriculture
Pest Management Bureau
PO Box 200201
Helena, MT 59620-0201
http://agr.mt.gov/agr/Business/PestMgt/Nurseries/

Fees
Initial Application Fee $25
Late Fee $25

plus

If gross annual sales are: The license fee is:

Less than $1,000 No license required
Between $1,000 but less than $5,000 $25
Greater than $5,000 $100

A nursery license is required for businesses and individuals that distribute, sell or resell nursery stock. A 
nursery license is required for landscaping and lawn maintenance businesses if the business provides, plants, 
or installs new plants or turf, and receives payment for the plants. The license is valid for one year from the 
date of issue.

Businesses or individuals that sell or distribute nursery stock at more than one location only need one nursery 
license per tax identification number.

License fees are based on gross annual sales as reported on your tax documents. Small plant vendors who 
operate only in Montana and sell less than $1000 gross annual sales of plant material are not required to get a 
license.
Payment must be received before the last business day of the license month.

Definitions
Firm - An individual, company, partnership, association or corporation.

Landscape Service - A firm that buys, sells, or resells nursery stock. “Nursery” means the business or location 
where nursery stock is grown or offered for sale, resale, or as part of a landscape service

Nursery Stock - Botanically classified plants or parts of plants, including but not limited to tropical potted 
plants, aquatic plants, cut trees and their products and turf or sod grass. The following plants and plant 
materials are not considered nursery stock:

●	 field crop plants and seeds
●	 pasture grasses
●	 cut plants not for propagation
●	 fruits or vegetables for human or animal consumption
●	 cut trees and products that are going to be processed to a point that they no longer represent a pest risk
●	 plant debris for disposal or processing

Small Plant Vendor - A Montana firm that is engaged in the business of selling or distributing nursery stock, 
including coniferous Christmas decorations, that grows in Montana all nursery stock offered for sale or 
distribution, and has gross annual sales of less than $1,000 in a calendar year.

The Montana Code Annotated for nursery licenses is at: http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/80_7_1.htm.

http://agr.mt.gov/agr/Business/PestMgt/Nurseries/
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/80_7_1.htm
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Underground Storage Tanks

Underground Storage Tank Section (UST)
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)
PO Box 200901
Helena MT 59620-0901
(406) 444-5300
www.deq.mt.gov/UST

Fees
$36 per tank equal to and less than 1100 gallon capacity
$108 per tank greater than 1100 gallon capacity

Notification of Underground Storage Tanks
Owners and operators of an underground storage tank (UST) and above ground storage tank with 
underground piping must register each tank with the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and eStop 
Business Licenses. UST registration fees are assessed annually. Registration fees are assessed for as long as 
the UST systems remain in the ground, whether or not the systems are in use. Tank systems must meet certain 
standards for construction and design, corrosion protection and leak detection.

Permits are required from the DEQ for tank or piping installations, closures, modifications, linings or 
repairs, and for the installation of cathodic protection and vapor or groundwater monitoring wells at existing 
installations. Licensed installers must conduct the permitted work. Any release must be reported to DEQ within 
24 hours.

A person may not use an UST without an operating permit issued by DEQ. To obtain an operating permit all 
current and past due registration fees must be paid and a licensed compliance inspector must inspect the 
tanks and certify to DEQ that the operation and maintenance of the tank complies with relevant DEQ laws and 
rules. It is the tank owner’s responsibility to hire a licensed inspector to conduct the inspection. Owners and 
operators of an UST are to have inspections every three years.

Find licensed installers and inspectors at www.deq.mt.gov/UST/licensees.mcpx.

For change of owner, please complete the Notification for Underground Storage Tanks (single page) form 
located in the back of the guide.

For a new facility and tank, please complete Notification for Underground Storage Tanks (4 pages) from 
located in the back of the guide.

Note: A notification for Underground Storage Tanks form MUST be submitted for any owner, operator or facility 
information changes. as well as new facility or new tank installations.

Important: This form must be attached to the master application.

Administrative Rules of Montana for underground storage tanks are at:  
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/75_11.htm.

http://www.deq.mt.gov/UST/default.mcpx
www.deq.mt.gov/UST/USTRules.mcpx
http://www.deq.mt.gov/UST/forms.mcpx
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/75_11.htm
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Weighing and Measuring Devices

Weights and Measures Bureau
Department of Labor and Industry
PO Box 200516
Helena, MT 59620-0516
(406) 443-8065
http://weightsandmeasures.mt.gov

Fees (Meters - Petroleum Dealers)

PA $21 Retail meters listed delivery less than or equal to 20 gallons per 
minute

PB $70 High speed retail/wholesale meters listed delivery 21 to 130 gallons per minute
PC $83  Wholesale meters listed delivery greater than 130 gallons per minute
PD $102 LPG (propane) meters

For gas pumps, “meters” refers to the actual number of measuring chambers, not the number of hoses or 
cabinets. If you have any questions about the correct number of gasoline or diesel meters at your location or 
their listed delivery, please contact either the company that installed the meters or the Weights and Measures 
Bureau at (406) 443-8065.

Fees (Scales- Weighing Devices)

SA or S1 $20 Manufacturers listed capacity 0 - 499 pounds
SB or S2 $33 Manufacturers listed capacity 500 - 1,999 pounds
SC or S3 $64 Manufacturers listed capacity 2,000 - 7,999 pounds
SD or S4 $165 Manufacturers listed capacity 8,000 - 60,000 pounds
SE or S5 $280 Manufacturers listed capacity greater than 60,000 pounds

Beginning in 2005, for record keeping purposes, scales were divided into two categories: Standard Commercial 
Scales, listed as “SA,” “SB,” “SC,” “SD” or “SE” and On Farm Scales, identified as “S1,” “S2,” “S3,” “S4“ or 
“S5.” On Farm Scales are scales located on a farm or ranch and used primarily by the farmer or rancher to 
weigh farm commodities such as grains, hay, livestock or produce. Standard commercial scales are located 
in off-farm commercial establishments, such as retail and wholesale stores and businesses. Please select the 
correct scale type. If you have any questions concerning scales, please contact the Weights and Measures 
Bureau at (406) 443-8065.

Meters and Scales
Licenses are required for all meters and scales used by businesses or individuals to weigh or measure any 
commodity that is bought or sold by weight or volume. For example, scales at a store used to weigh candy, 
meats, fruits, etc.; or meters used to measure gallons of gasoline sold. On the Master Application form, indicate 
each device type to be licensed and the total number of devices. Fees shown are per each individual device.

The Montana Code Annotated for weighing and measuring devices is at:  
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/30_12.htm and at http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/82_15.htm

http://weightsandmeasures.mt.gov
http://revenue.mt.gov/Portals/9/businesses/eStop_licensing/Form_MA.pdf
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/30_12.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/82_15.htm
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Tobacco Products and Alternative Nicotine or Vapor Products

Department of Revenue
Business and Income Tax Division
Miscellaneous Tax Unit
PO Box 5805
Helena, MT 59604-5805
http://revenue.mt.gov/home/businesses/estop_licensing.aspx

Fees
Tobacco Products

Retailer –Tobacco $5
For businesses that sell tobacco products to the consumer. A tobacco retailer’s 
license is required for each physical location where tobacco products are sold 
over the counter or through a vending machine.

Retailer – Vendor $5 For businesses that own and operate fewer than 10 cigarette vending machines.
Vendor $50 For businesses that own and operate 10 or more cigarette vending machines.

Wholesaler $50
For wholesale distribution businesses that purchase and affix tax stamps to 
cigarettes and offer to sell tobacco products to licensed subjobbers, retailers or 
vendors.

Subjobber $50
For wholesale distribution businesses that purchase stamped cigarettes from 
licensed wholesalers and offer to sell tobacco products to a licensed retailer or 
vendor.

Alternative Nicotine or Vapor Products

Retailer $5
For businesses that sell alternative nicotine or vapor products. An alternative 
nicotine or vapor products retailer’s license is required for each physical location 
where alternative nicotine or vapor products are sold.

Note: Fees are assessed annually.

Upon receipt of your eStop Master Application (Form MA), the Department of Revenue may request additional 
information about your distribution and sales of tobacco and alternative nicotine or vapor products.

Fair Trade Laws
Montana is a fair trade state. To sell cigarettes in Montana, you first need to verify that the manufacturer has 
provided the base cost, before taxes or discounts, to the Department of Revenue and that the department has 
established the wholesale and retail minimum price. The minimum price list is at http://revenue.mt.gov.

Master Settlement Agreement
Montana is a signatory of the National Tobacco Master Settlement Agreement (MSA). Tobacco product brands 
sold in Montana are required to be approved by the Department of Justice. Licensed retailers, vendors, 
subjobbers or wholesalers cannot stamp or sell cigarettes and roll-your-own tobacco from manufactures that 
do not participate in the Tobacco MSA. Information about Montana’s MSA is available at http://revenue.mt.gov.

Stamping Equipment
The department purchases tax stamps from Meyercord Company. You can call Meyercord about stamping 
equipment at (630) 682-6200.

Reporting Requirements
Tobacco product tax payments and returns are due monthly to the Montana Department of Revenue. Tax 
returns and tax stamps are managed by the department’s Miscellaneous Tax Unit.  If you have questions, call 
us toll free at (866) 859-2254 (in Helena, 444-6900).

Administrative Rules of Montana for tobacco products are at http://www.mtrules.org.

eStop Master Application (Form MA)
http://revenue.mt.gov
http://www.mtrules.org
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Off-Premises Beer and Wine License

Liquor Control Division
Department of Revenue
PO Box 1712
Helena, MT  59624-1712

Fees

Processing Fee (non-refundable) $200
 Beer $200
 Wine $200
 Beer and Wine $400

Off-Premises Beer and Wine Application
Please complete the checklist and necessary forms for processing your Off-Premises Beer and Wine License 
Application. The checklist, forms and additional information are included at the back of this guide, and are also 
available on our website at eStop.mt.gov.

●	 Application Guide and Check List
●	 Off-Premises Beer and Wine Application
●	 Grocery Inventory (Form G-1)
●	 Floor Plan (Form F-1)
●	 Management Agreement (Form MGR-1)

Additional Forms and Information
The forms listed below are available from the Department of Revenue Website in the downloadable forms and 
resources section at http://revenue.mt.gov/home/liquor/forms.aspx#horizontalTab1 or by calling the department 
toll free at (866) 859-2254 (in Helena, 444-6900).

●	 Liquor Division Authorization to Disclose Tax Information, (LIQ-AUTH). Request a form to be completed 
by the SELLER, (if applicable) and the buyer of the business. The entity and individuals that have an 
ownership interest of 10% or more must complete the request form and return with the application. 

●	 Personal History Statement Form (Form 10) accompanies Fingerprint Cards for all managers, owners, 
officers, directors and non-institutional sources of funds. (LINK https://doj.mt.gov/wp-content/uploads/10.
pdf)

●	 Fingerprint Cards. You can get these cards from your local law enforcement agency when you get your 
fingerprints done. This form is not available on our website; it can be requested from us toll free at 
(866) 859-2254 (in Helena, 444-6900). Each individual involved in ownership or management needs a 
set of fingerprint cards.

●	 Alcohol, Tobacco, Tax and Trade Bureau TTB tax registration form (ATF-F-5630.5d).

The Montana Code Annotated for off-premises beer and wine licenses is at http://revenue.mt.gov/Portals/9/
liquor/alcohol_beveragelicenses/licensing_forms/One-Stop_Off-Premises_License_Application%20pdf%20
12%202013.pdf

http://estop.mt.gov
http://
http://revenue.mt.gov/home/liquor/forms.aspx
http://revenue.mt.gov/Portals/9/liquor/alcohol_beveragelicenses/wholesalersmanufacturers_importers/LIQ_AUTH.pdf
http://revenue.mt.gov/home/liquor/forms.aspx
http://ttb.gov/forms/f56305d.pdf
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/16.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/16.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/16.htm


BUSINESS LICENSES

Business Information
Company or Owner Name______________________________________________________________________________________

Federal Employer Identification Number or Social Security Number______________________________________ (required)

_______________________________________________________ 	 ________________________ 	 _ ___________ 	 ____________
Business Mailing Address	 City	 State	 ZIP + 4
Type of Business (please check one and provide additional information if needed):
	 Sole proprietorship	 	 S corporation	 	 Governmental
	 Limited liability company	 	 Association	 	 Limited partnership
	 C corporation	 	 Limited liability partnership	 	 Other
	 Nonprofit C corporation	 	 Partnership	

Location Information
Assumed Business Name/DBA/Trade Name, etc.____________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________ 	 ________________________ 	 _ ___________ 	 ____________
Physical Location Address 	 City	 State	 ZIP + 4

______________________________________________ 	 ______________________________ 	 _ ___________________________
County	 Location Phone Number	 Location Fax Number

Contact Information

Name____________________________________________________ Phone Number______________________________________
	 Please Print

Email address_ ___________________________________________________________________

Rev 12 15

Master Application
Check appropriate box(es) and complete all applicable information.

Important:	 Complete Section II (other side of form), if applicable. In all situations, sign and date.
	 All coordinating applications and affidavits must be completed and attached for processing.

License fee and payment information is on the other side of this form.
Signature (required)
I declare under penalty of false swearing that I am the applicant or the duly authorized representative of the entity making 
this application, and that the responses provided, including any accompanying information, are true, correct and complete.

_____________________________________________ 	 _____________________________________	 _ _____________
	 Signature	 Title	 Date
Mail completed form to: eStop Business Licenses, PO Box 8003, Helena, MT 59604-8003
Questions? Call us toll free (866) 859-2254 (In Helena, 444-6900), FAX: (406) 444-7723

Business Changes
q	 Register a new business with eStop. See Section II for fees that apply.
q	 Update business information, such as mailing address or contact information, etc. No fee.
q	 Change business structure or entity type. A liquor processing fee may apply. See Section II.
q	 Add a new physical location to your eStop business. See Section II for fees that apply.
q	 Purchase of an existing eStop location. Previous owner's Location Number_ ___________

Location Changes - Provide current Location Number for box(es) selected below_________________
Your Location Number is at the upper right-hand section of your eStop license and renewal.
q	 Relocate to a new physical location. A license fee may apply. See Section II.
q	 Update location information, such as name/DBA/trade name, etc. No fee.
q	 Update license information, such as add, increase/decrease, change license type, etc. See Section II  

for fees that apply.

Section I. 

eStop 
Business Licenses is 

now online!
eStop.mt.gov

http://revenue.mt.gov/home/businesses/estop_licensing


BUSINESS LICENSES
Section II. License Fees

License Type of Fee Inspection Required Fee Quantity Total Amount

Montana Lottery
Tradtional. One-time fee. No $50.00

Montana Sports Action (MSA) 
Must have gaming license. Annual fee. No $75.00

Retail Food 
Establishment

Small - Establishments with one or two employees 
working at any one time. New or relocation fee applies.

Yes. Please 
contact your county 
environmental health 
department.

$85.00

Large - Establishments with more than two employees 
working at any one time. New or relocation fee applies. $115.00

Tobacco 
Products 

and 
Alternative 
Nicotine or 
Vapor Products

Retailer - Tobacco No $5.00

Retailer - Vendor < 10 cigarette vending machines. No $5.00

Vendor ≥ 10 cigarette vending machines. No $50.00

Wholesaler No $50.00

Subjobber No $50.00

Retailer - Alternative Nicotine or Vapor Products No $5.00

Off-Premises 
Beer/Wine

Processing fee for new applicant, relocation and some 
business structure changes.  
Fee is nonrefundable.

Yes, if new application 
or application for 
transfer of location.

$200.00

Addition of beer or wine license to a current license
Fee is nonrefundable. $100.00

Background check processing fee $27.25

Beer $200.00

Wine $200.00

Beer/Wine $400.00

Nursery License

A license is not required if gross annual sales are less than $1,000.

q Check this box if applying for a secondary location. No fees are required.

Initial application fee for >$1,000 gross annual sales Not at registration $25.00

License fee for $1,000-$5,000 gross annual sales Not at registration $25.00

License fee for >$5,000 gross annual sales Not at registration $100.00

Underground 
Storage Tanks

q Owner	 q Operator  (Please check one.)

Tanks ≤1,100 gallons. New or relocation fee applies. Not at registration. 
Every 3 years for 
operating permit.

$36.00

Tanks >1,100 gallons. New or relocation fee applies. $108.00

Meters - 
Petroleum 
Dealers

PA - Max delivery ≤ 20 gal/min Yes $21.00

PB - Max delivery > 20 gal/min and ≤ 130 gal/min Yes $70.00

PC - Max delivery > 130 gal/min Yes $83.00

PD - LPG (Propane) meters Yes $102.00

Scales - 
Weighing 
Devices

S1 or SA - 0 thru 499 lbs Yes $20.00

S2 or SB - 500 thru 1,999 lbs Yes $33.00

S3 or SC - 2,000 thru 7,999 lbs Yes $64.00

S4 or SD - 8,000.thru 60,000 lbs Yes $165.00

S5 or SE - 60,001 lbs or greater Yes $280.00

Total Amount Due  

Questions? Call us toll free (866) 859-2254 
	 (in Helena at 444-6900).
	 FAX: (406) 444-7723

How to Make a Payment
►	 Go to eStop.mt.gov to apply and pay online!

►	 Pay by check made payable to eStop Business Licenses—be sure to write your Location Number in the memo line.
	 Mail your check to:	 eStop Business Licenses

	 Montana Department of Revenue
	 PO Box 8003
	 Helena, Montana 59604-8003

http://revenue.mt.gov/home/businesses/estop_licensing


Montana Department of Environmental Quality 
Notification for Underground Storage Tanks Facility ID Number: 
Contact the Department: (406) 444 -5300 or via the internet at ustprogram@mt.gov 

INSTRUCTIONS
Please type or print in ink all items except "signature" in Section IV. This form must be completed for each location containing underground 
storage tanks. 

TYPE OF NOTIFICATION 
A. CHANGE OF OWNER   B. AMENDED OWNER INFORMATION  

GENERAL INFORMATION 
Notification is required for all underground tanks that have been used to store regulated substances since January 1, 1974, and that are in the ground as of May 8, 
1986, or that are brought into use after May 8, 1986. 

Who Must Notify? Title 17, Chapter 56, Subchapter 9, Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) require that, unless exempted, owners of underground tanks that store 
regulated substances must notify designated State and local agencies of the existence of their tanks. 
Owner means - 

(a) in the case of an underground storage tank in use on November 8, 1984 or brought into use after that date, any person who owns an underground storage tank used for
the storage, use, or dispensing of regulated substances and 

(b) in the case of any underground storage tank in use before November 8, 1984, but no longer in use on that date, any person who owned such tank immediately before 
the discontinuation of its use 

An UST, which is in the ground and not properly closed is deemed to be in use and is subject to notification requirements. 

An owner of an underground storage tank system must amend the facility's current notification form whenever the facility has undergone any change, which results in a change 
to the facility information or status. 

Penalties: Any owner who fails to notify or submits false information is subject to a civil penalty of up to $10,000.00 per violation per day for each tank for which 
notification is not given for which false information is submitted. Criminal penalties may also apply. 

I. OWNERSHIP OF TANKS II. OPERATOR OF TANKS 
Owner Name (Corporation, Individual, Public Agency, or Other Entity) Operator Name 

Mailing Address Operator Address 

PO Box City       State                 Zip Code 

City State Zip Code Phone number (         ) 

County                                                    Phone Number 
          (           ) 

Email Address 

Federal Tax ID #

III. LOCATION OF TANKS
Facility Name or Company site identifier, as applicable Street address or physical location (PO Box not acceptable) 

Phone Number                                       Fax Number 
  (          )                                                  (           ) 

   City                                                                State Zip Code 

YES  NO YES  NO YES    NO (           )              
Latitude Longitude Tribal Owned Tribal Land Within Reservation 

Boundary 
Contact Person                                Phone Number 

IV. CERTIFICATION 

I certify under penalty of law that the submitted information is true, accurate, and complete. 

Name and official title of owner or owner's representative(Please print below) SIGNATURE (below) 

Date Signed 

14
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Notification of Underground Storage Tanks
Montana Department of Environmental Quality

INSTRUCTIONS

 
 
 

Fac ID #:

 
STATE USE ONLY

Please type or print in ink all items except “signature” in Section V. This form must be completed
for each location containing underground storage tanks.  If more than five tanks are owned at this 
location, staple continuation sheets to the form. 

Type of Notification

a. Date Entered into Computer: 
b. Data Entry Clerk Initials:

New Notification Amended 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION
Notification is required by Federal and State law for all underground tanks that have

been used to store regulated substances since January 1, 1974, and that are in the
ground as of May 8, 1986, or that are bought into use after May 8, 1986. The
information requested is required by Section 9002 of the Resource Conservation and 
Recovery Act, (RCRA), as amended, and by Title 17, Chapter 56, Subchapter 9,
Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM). 

 
The primary purpose of this notification program is to locate and evaluate 

underground tanks that store or have stored petroleum or hazardous substances.  It is 
expected that the information you provide will be based on reasonably available
records, or in the absence of such records, your knowledge, belief or recollection. 

 
Who Must Notify?  Section 9002 of RCRA, as amended, and Title 17, Chapter 56,

Subchapter 9, ARM require that, unless exempted, owners of underground storage
tanks that store regulated substances must notify designated State or local agencies of
the existence of their tanks. 
Owner means- 

a) in the case of an underground storage tank in use on November 8, 1984, or brought 
into use after that date, any person who owns an underground storage tank used for
storage, use, or dispensing of regulated substances, and 

b)in the case of any underground storage tank in use before November 8, 1984 or
brought into use on that date, any person who owned such tank immediately  
before discontinuation of its use. 

 
An UST, which is in the ground and not properly closed is deemed to be in use

and is subject to notification requirements.
 

An owner of an underground storage tank system must amend the facility’s current
notification form whenever the facility has undergone any change, which results in a
change to the facility information or status. 

 
What tanks are included?  Underground storage tank is defined as any one or

combination of tanks that (1) is used to contain an accumulation of “regulated 
substances”, and (2) whose volume is 10% or more beneath the ground and (3)
aboveground tanks with underground piping. Some examples are underground tanks
storing 1. gasoline, used oil, heating oil or diesel fuel, and 2. industrial solvents,
pesticides, herbicides or fumigants. 

What Tanks Are Excluded?
1. septic tanks 
2. pipeline facilities (including gathering lines) regulated under the

Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act of 1968, or the Hazardous Liquid Pipeline
Safety Act of 1979, or which is an intrastate pipeline facility regulated under
State laws; 

3. surface impoundments, pits, ponds or lagoons; 
4. storm water or waste water collection systems; 
5. flow through process tanks; 
6. liquid traps or associated gathering lines directly related to oil or

gas production and gathering operations; 
7. storage tanks situated in an underground area, such as a basement,

cellar, mine, drift, shaft, or tunnel, if the storage tank is situated upon or above 
the surface of the floor; 

8. Underground tanks and underground piping attached to 
aboveground tanks of 1,100 gallons or less located at a farm or private 
residence and storing “noncommercial’ motor fuel or heating oil if the tanks
was installed before April 27, 1995. 

 
“Noncommercial” means not used in the operation of a business other than the
production of agricultural commodities. 

 
What Substances Are Covered?  The notification requirements apply to 
underground storage tanks that contain regulated substances.  This includes any
substance defined as hazardous in Section101 (14) of the Comprehensive
Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act of 1989 (CERCLA),
with the exception of those substances regulated as hazardous waste under
Subtitle C of RCRA.  It also includes petroleum, e.g., crude oil or any fraction 
thereof, which is liquid at standard conditions of temperature and pressure (60 
degrees Fahrenheit and 14.7 pounds per square inch absolute.)
When To Notify?
1. Owners of underground storage tanks and piping that were in use May 8,
1986, or which were taken out of operation after January 1, 1974, but which 
were still in the ground on May 8, 1986, were required to notify on or before
May 8, 1986. 
2. Owners who bring underground storage tanks into use after May 8, 1986,
must notify within 30 days after bringing the tanks into use. 
3. Any amendment to facility information or status, including change in 
ownership must be notified immediately. 

Where to notify? Send completed forms to: Underground Storage Tank Section
Montana Department of Environmental Quality

PO Box 200901
Helena MT 59620-0901

Phone: 406-444-5300 Fax: 406-444-1374
 

Penalties: Any owner who fails to notify or submits false information is subject to a civil penalty of up to $10,000.00 per violation per day for each tank for which 
notification is not given or for which false information is submitted. Criminal penalties may also apply. 

I. Ownership of Tanks                     II. Location of Tanks
Owner Name(Corporation, Individual, Public Agency, or Other Entity) Facility Name or Company Site Identifier, as applicable

 
Mailing Address Street Address or Physical Location (PO BOX NOT ACCEPTABLE)

 
City State Zip City State Zip

 
Phone Number Fax Number Latitude Longitude

 
Phone Number Fax Number 

   Email Address
 
 
 

- 1 - 
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III. TYPE OF OWNER IV. INDIAN LANDS
 

Federal Government Commercial
 

State Government Farmer/ Rancher
 

Local Government Residential

Tribal Owned
 

YES NO

Tribal Land
 

YES NO

Within 
Reservation
Boundary

 
YES NO

Tribe or Nation:

V. TYPE OF FACILITY
 

Select the Appropriate Facility Description ( check as many as apply)
 

Gas Station Railroad Trucking/Transport
 

Bulk Plant Federal Non-Military Utilities
 

Petroleum Distributor Federal - Military Residential
 

Air Taxi (Airline) Industrial Farm/Ranch
 

Aircraft Owner Contractor Emergency Generator
 

Auto Dealership School Other (explain)
 

Church Medical

VI. CONTACT PERSON IN CHARGE OF TANKS
Name Job Title Address Phone Number (Include Area

Code)

VII. FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILTY
I have met the financial responsibility requirements in accordance with 40 CFR 280, Subpart H and Title 17,
Chapter 56, Subchapter 8, Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM)

 
(If yes, please initial)

Check All that Apply
 

Self Insurance

Commercial Insurance

Risk Retention Group

 

Guarantee

Surety Bond

Letter of Credit

 

Montana Petroleum Tank Release
Cleanup Fund

 

Trust Fund
 

Other Method Allowed (Specify)

VIII. CERTIFICATION (Read and sign after completing all sections)
I certify under penalty of law that I have personally examined and am familiar with the information submitted in this and all
attached documents, and that based on my inquiry of those individuals immediately responsible for obtaining the information, I
believe that the submitted information is true, accurate and complete.

Name and official title of owner or owner’s authorized
representative (Please print)

Signature Date Signed

EPA estimates public reporting burden for this form to average 30 minutes per response including time for reviewing instructions,
gathering and maintaining the data needed and completing and reviewing the form. Send comments regarding this burden estimate to
Chief Information Policy Branch PM-223, US Environmental Protection Agency, 401 M Street, Washington D.C. 20460, marked
“Attention Desk Officer for EPA.” This form amends the previous notification form as printed in 40 CFR Part 280, Appendix I.
Previous editions of this notification form may be used while supplies last.

- 2 - 
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Facility Name: Facility ID#:
IX. DESCRIPTION OF UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANKS

(Complete for each tank at this location)
State ID (STATE USE)      

 
Tag Number      

Tank ID Number      
1.STATUS OF TANK ( mark only one) 

Currently in Use
Temporarily Out of Use
Permanently Out of Use 
Amendment of

     

2. DATE OF INSTALLATION (mo/year) / / / / / 
3. ESTIMATED TOTAL CAPACITY (gal)      

 
4. TANK MATERIAL (Mark all that apply) 

Aboveground 
Asphalt Coated or Bare Steel 
Cathodically Protected Steel 

Epoxy Coated Steel 
Composite (Steel with Fiberglass) 

Fiberglass Reinforced Plastic 
Lined Interior 

Double Walled 
Polyethylene Tank Jacket 

Concrete 
Excavation Liner 

Unknown 
Multi-compartment tank 

Other, Please specify 
Has tank been repaired? 

     

     
     

 
5. PIPING MATERIAL (Mark all that apply) 

Product Vent Product Vent Product Vent Product Vent Product Vent

Bare 
Steel 

Galvanized Steel 
Fiberglass Reinforced Plastic 

UL Listed Flex Pipe 
Copper 

Cathodically Protected 
Double Walled 

Trench Liner 
Secondary Containment 

Unknown 
   

     

          

- 3 - 
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Facility Name: Facility ID#:

State ID (STATE USE)       

 
Tag Number      
Tank ID Number      
 
6.PIPING(Type)(Mark all that apply) 

Safe Suction: no valve at tank      
U. S. Suction: valve at tank      

Pressure      
Gravity Feed      

Has piping been repaired?      
7. SUBSTANCE CURRENTLY OR LAST STORED IN GREATEST QUANTITY BY VOLUME. 

Gasoline      
Diesel      

>E15 
>B20 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

Kerosene      
Heating Oil      

Used Oil      
Other, please specify below      

      
Hazardous Substance      

CERCLA name and/or      
CAS Number      

      

Mixture of Substances      
Please specify      

 
X. TANKS OUT OF USE, OR CHANGE IN SERVICE

-FOR STATE USE ONLY- 

1. Tank Closure 
a. removed or closed in place (mo/day/year)           
b. change in service           

2. Date Site Assessment Completed           
3. Evidence of a Leak Detected           
Comments: 

Location: 

Initials of reviewer/date 

- 4 - 
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Beer and Wine License Application
(Retail Off-Premises Consumption)

Note: When eStop Business Licenses receives your Beer and Wine License application, we will contact you 
by letter to request additional documents and let you know if your application meets our initial requirements. It 
usually takes 45 to 60 days to process an application. When we receive a complete application, we will notify 
the necessary officials for final review and approval of your application.

Section 1. Application Guide and Checklist
Please check the appropriate boxes below and include this page with your application.

Register for a New License

	 Complete and sign the eStop Master Application.

	 Include the license, processing and background check fees (see page 2 of the eStop Master 
Application).

	 Complete Sections 2-6 of this application.

	 Include additional documents needed to complete this application or send them to the appropriate 
agency. See Section 7, items 1-7.

	 Request Temporary Operating Authority (see Section 4) if the premises has been licensed within the last 
year to sell beer and wine.

	 Schedule a fire, building and health inspection of the premises at least two weeks prior to the tentative 
date of opening or completion.

Submit a Business Structure Change
To add an entity or individual to the business structure that has never before had an ownership interest in the 
license or the ownership interest is changing from less than 10% to more than 10%.

	 Complete and sign the eStop Master Application.

	 Include the $200 processing fee and $27.25 background check fee (see page 2 of the eStop Master 
Application).

	 Complete Sections 2-6 of this application.

	 Include additional documents needed to complete this application or send them to the appropriate 
agency. See Section 7, items 2-7.

Relocate to a New Physical Location

	 Complete and sign the eStop Master Application.

	 Include the $200 processing fee (see page 2 of the eStop Master License Application).

	 Complete Sections 2-6 of this application.

	 Include additional documents needed to complete this application or send them to the appropriate 
agency. See Section 7, items 1, 2, 6 and 7.

	 Schedule a fire, building and health inspection of the premises two weeks prior to the tentative date of 
opening or completion.

Adding a Beer or Wine License to an Existing License

	 Complete and sign the eStop Master Application.

	 Include the license fee and $100 processing fee (see page 2 of the eStop Master License Application).
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Application Guide and Checklist (continued).

Business Name____________________________________ License Number_________________
No fees are required to make any of the changes below. Please check the appropriate boxes and 
include this page with your application.

Entity Type Changed
	 Complete and sign the eStop Master Application and Section 5 of this application.

	 Include additional documents needed to complete this application or send them to the appropriate 
agency. See Section 7, items 2, 3, 5, 6 and 7.

	 Include the new entity’s federal employers identification number (FEIN), registration document, meeting 
minutes and articles of organization documents.

Death of a Licensee
	 Complete and sign the eStop Master Application and Section 5 of this application.

	 Include additional documents needed to complete this application or send them to the appropriate 
agency. See Section 7, items 2, 4, 5 and 6.

	 Include an original death certificate or court order document certifying the death of the individual with an 
ownership interest.

	 Include a copy of the Last Will and Testament court document.

	 Include a copy of the Personal Representative Appointment court document. An appointed conservator, 
trustee, executor or power of attorney court document is also acceptable.

Divorce among Licensees
	 Complete and sign the eStop Master Application and include Section 5 of this application.

	 Include additional documents needed to complete this application or send them to the appropriate 
agency. See Section 7, items 2, 4, 5 and 6.

	 Include a copy of the court-filed divorce decree.

	 Include a copy of the court-filed property settlement agreement.

Gifting or Sale among Licensees (The ownership interest will not change from less than 10% to more  
than 10% or an ownership interest is being removed from the license.)

	 Complete and sign the eStop Master application and include Section 5 of this application.

	 Include additional documents needed to complete this application or send them to the appropriate 
agency. See Section 7, items 2, 4, 5 and 6.

	 Include a copy of the stock transfer document, which must show the individual or entity and the total 
issued share amount and percentage being transferred or gifted.
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Section 2. Premises

1.	 Please indicate the location of the physical address.

	 	 City Limits	 	 County Area

2.	 Is the building complete and ready for use?

	 	 Yes

	 	 No. The expected completion date is_____________________
		  The delay is due to: 	 	 remodel	 	 new construction

3.	 Is the location to be licensed within a zone or area where the sale of alcoholic beverages is not allowed 
by city, county or tribal ordinances?

	 	 Yes

	 	 No

4.	 Do you, as the individual or entity on the eStop Master Application, own or are you purchasing the real 
property, building or building area proposed for licensing?

	 	 Yes. Please provide a warranty deed, purchase agreement or current property tax statement.

	 	 No. Please provide a lease agreement.

Section 3. Type of Off-Premises Business
Please check the license type under which the premises proposed for licensing will operate.

	 	 Grocery store (include a copy of the Grocery Inventory form)

	 	 Pharmacy (include a copy of your current pharmaceutical license)

	 	 Stand Alone
	 If applying for a Stand Alone license type, do you agree to maintain a business gross income of 

95% or more from the sale of beer and wine, and that the business gross income of other retail 
products will not exceed 5%?

		  	 Yes	 	 No

Section 4. Temporary Operating Authority 

Has this premises been licensed within the last year and no building, health or fire deficiencies exist?

	 	 Yes. Please enter the expected date that Temporary Operating Authority will begin______________

	 	 No. Temporary Operating Authority cannot be granted.

Note: Temporary Operating Authority is granted for the use of the Beer and Wine license only during the time 
period that your application is being processed.

The department will issue Temporary Operating Authority when we receive verification that the tax information 
of the current recorded licensee or seller is current. The current recorded licensee (seller) must provide 
the Liquor Division Authorization to Disclose Tax Information form to the department. This form is available 
on our website at http://revenue.mt.gov/home/liquor/forms.aspx. Please be aware that we will revoke 
Temporary Operating Authority if you or your employees violate any provisions of Montana Code Annotated or 
Administrative Rules of Montana.
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Section 5. Corporate Statement
All entities, except sole proprietorships, need to complete the following information for all shareholders, 
members or partners. (Please attach additional pages if necessary.)

Please Print
1 Shareholder, Member or Partner Name SSN

Address

Date of Birth Actual Number of Shares and % of Ownership

2 Shareholder, Member or Partner Name SSN

Address

Date of Birth Actual Number of Shares and % of Ownership

3 Shareholder, Member or Partner Name SSN

Address

Date of Birth Actual Number of Shares and % of Ownership

4 Shareholder, Member or Partner Name SSN

Address

Date of Birth Actual Number of Shares and % of Ownership

Officers and Directors (Use additional sheet of paper if necessary.)

1 Officer or Director Name SSN

Address

Date of Birth Title

2 Officer or Director Name SSN

Address

Date of Birth Title

3 Officer or Director Name SSN

Address

Date of Birth Title

4 Officer or Director Name SSN

Address

Date of Birth Title
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Section 6. Manager Information

Name of person or entity that is managing or that will be managing the business________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________________

	 This person or entity is a shareholder, member or partner.

	 This person or entity was employed as a manager and a current management agreement is on file with 
the department.

	 This manager was recently employed. Date of hire______________________
	 Please include with your application a management agreement for this manager or management 

company. A Management Agreement form is available on our website at https://svc.mt.gov/dor/
eStopPortal/Default.aspx. This form meets the requirement for ARM 42.12.132.

Section 7. Required Documents

1.	 A Floor Plan form detailing the outside dimensions, general layout and areas where beer and wine will 
be stored and sold. Please label the floor plan with the date, DBA (doing business as) and address of 
premises to be licensed.

2.	 A lease agreement, purchase agreement, warranty deed or current property tax bill verifying the applicant 
has possessory interest in the real property where the business is located.

3.	 A Registered Certificate of Existence, Authority or Fact if you are applying as a corporation, company or 
partnership. In addition, if your DBA is different than the applicant’s name, please include the certificate as 
filed with the Secretary of State’s (SOS) Office. In Montana, call (406) 444-3665 or go to http://sos.mt.gov/
Business/Forms/index.asp to register the new entity and DBA by mail or online.

4.	 A background check fee of $27.25, personal history statement and two fingerprint cards for each individual 
with an ownership interest of 10% or more of the license. In certain circumstances, a representative for the 
licensee will require a background check. Please contact our office toll free at (866) 859-2254, (in Helena) 
at (406) 444-6900, and we will mail the fingerprint cards to you. Go to your local law enforcement agency to 
be processed. (Local officials may charge a separate fee for this service).

5.	 A bank account agreement having the applicant’s name, Federal Employer Identification (FEIN) or social 
security number and authorized signatures.

6.	 The Liquor Division Authorization to Disclose Tax Information form for each individual and entity that has an 
ownership interest of 10% or more, and for the current recorded licensee (seller). Please fax the completed 
form to Department of Revenue, Business Income Tax Division at (406) 444-6642. The form is available on 
our website at http://revenue.mt.gov/home/liquor/forms.aspx.

7.	 If you have not registered your business with Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB), all alcohol 
beverage dealers must file the TTB F 5630.5d form and mail it to the designated address on the form, or 
contact TTB’s National Revenue Center at (800) 937-8864 or (513) 684-2979.
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Grocery Inventory
Section 16-4-115(1), MCA states a retail license to sell beer or table wine in the original package for off-premises 
consumption may be issued only to a qualified applicant whose premises proposed for licensing operates as a bona fide 
grocery store; a drug store licensed as a pharmacy; or a stand-alone beer, wine, or beer and wine business. 

If you are applying a Stand-Alone type license, you are not required to complete this form.

ARM 42.12.126(2) states that a retail inventory of $3,000 will serve as a basis for determining whether an establishment 
qualifies as a “bona fide grocery store.” An establishment must maintain retail inventory of at least $3,000 at all times. 

The retail inventory must include at least three different types of items in each of the following food groups: meats, 
vegetables, fruits, bakery items, dairy products and household supplies.

Provide the Total Retail Inventory dollar amount, do not include the beer and wine inventory amounts.

For each of the following food group categories, list three types of items included in your retail 
inventory:

Meats

Vegetables

Fruits

Bakery Items

Dairy Products

Household

Enter the total dollar amount of the retail inventory proposed above. If your business is already established, write the total 
dollar amount of the retail inventory you had last month, not including beer and wine. $ ___________________

Please provide the total retail amount of the proposed inventory for the previous month.

I certify this inventory to be correct.

________________________________________________________________
Signature

________________________________________________________________
Business Name/County

________________________________________________________________
Date

MONTANA
G-1
LCD 22
Rev 11 14
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Floor Plan
The floor plan must show the area to be licensed, using approximate dimensional measurements, including external dimensions and 
general layout. Required for On-Premises: The floor plan must contain the alcoholic beverages license number (if applicable) and 
number of tables and chairs indicated on your application. All alcohol storage areas and service areas should be labeled. Floor plan 
must indicate seating for at least twelve at a bar, table or booth—independent of gambling machines. If you are applying for a restaurant 
beer/wine license, be sure the floor plan has the service bar area clearly designated and label the kitchen and dining room. If a patio 
is present, label it as well and include the height of the perimeter barrier around the patio. Required for Off-Premises: The floor plan 
must show areas where beer and wine will be stored and sold.

_____________________________________________________________________ 	 ___________________________________
Business Name	 License Number (if applicable) 

________________________________________________________ 	 _____________________________
Address	 Date
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