
Surrounding State Nursery Fees

Colordao

License $90 /location

Wallet License $5 /card

License Exemption None

Inspection $32 /hr, 1 hr min

Late Fee $90

General Fund? No /Program supported 100% through registration and inspection fees

Idaho

License (principal) $100

Add'tl Retail Outlet $100 /retail outlet

Agent $25 /principal represented

Temporary $25

License Exemptions Person not regularly engaged in business + GAS < $500

Agent when soliciting only from persons licensed

Inspection $0 Except when add'tl inspection are required or when requested

Late Fee $25

Research & Education $25 of each license fee (not in addition to)

General Fund? No /Program fees are not generating enough revenue to pay the program's bills

North Dakota

License $50

Add'tl Locations $10 /location

License Exemptions

Inspection Fee $0 /included in license fee

General Fund? No /Receives general fund for plant protection programs,e.g., nursery, exports, industrial hemp, 

ginseng.  Received $104,813 in last biennium (for operating, did not include salary)

Research/experimental purposes; Cons. District for soil and wind erosin & conservation 

plantings; Noncommerical purposes; Commissioner designated exemptions



Oregon

Nursery License/location

Nursery 

Dealer/Grower Assessment

Greenhouse 

Grower Assessment 

Annual Sales up to $20,000 $129 base fee $129 base fee

Annual Sales $20,001 - $100,000 $129 .0016 over $20,000 $129 0.0016 over $20,000

Annual Sales $100,001 - 200,000 $257 .0013 over $100,000 $257 0.0013 over $100,000

Annual Sales $200,001 - 500,000 $387 .00064 over $200,000 $387 0.00064 over $200,000

Annual Sales $501,000 - $2,000,000 $579 .00057 over $500,000 $579 0.00057 over $500,000

Annual Sales $200,001 + $1,434 .00052 over $2 m 1,434 0.00052 over $2 m

Max Fee $20,000

* florists, landscape contractors and dealer rate is computed on gross purchase of plants

* greenhouse operators, growers, native plant collectors based on gross sales or sales value produced in OR

License - Christmas Tree Grower

Basic Charge Acreage Assessment

First 40 acres $70 + $3/acre

41 - 100 acres $190 + $3/acre over 40

101 - 200 acres $370.00 + $2.50/acre over 100

201 + acres $620 + $2/acre over 200

Minimum Fee $73

Max Fee $5,000

License Exemption

Inspection $0 /licensed nurseries.  $60/hour at non-licensed businesses.

Research assessment (based on sales) $10 Gross Sales x .0002

Plant Pest/Disease Emergency Response

European Pine Shoot Moth Survey $85 /field to conduct trapping survey

General Fund? No /Oregon nursery program is 100% funded with fees

South Dakota

License

Capped at $250,000 by statute and can asses a fee of .0002 x annual gross 

sales

Total sales < $250 worth of nursery stock annually and state/federal agencies 

and academic institutions



$75

$75 + $10/10,000 ft2

$350 +$10/acre over 1 acre 

$350 + $10/10,000 ft2

Dealer w/ GAS < $5,000 $125

Dealer w/ GAS $5,001 - $19,999 $200

Dealer w/ $20,000+ GAS $350

Other $250 + $5/acre

Other $250 + $5/10,000 ft
2

License Exemption Non-profit, must have inspection cert

Inspection - on site $200

Inspection - field $250 for 1st acre + $2/addt'l acre

General Fund? No /Program supported by fees and licensing

Utah

License w/ GAS < $5,000 $40

License w/ GAS $5,001 - $100,000 $80

License with GAS $100,001 - $250,000 $120

License with GAS $250,001 - $500,000 $160

License with GAS $500,001 + $200

Agents $50

Late Fee $25

General Fund? No

Washington

License

/Fees go into the general fund and the department requests budget; fees 

generate/department budget request is roughly $35,000 - $40,000; 

increased fees three years ago

Resident - container grown w GAS > 

$5,000

+$10/acre over 1 acre 

Resident - field grown, inspected plants w 

GAS < $5,000
Resident - container-grown w/GAS < 

$5,000

Resident - field grown, inspected plants w 

GAS > $5,000



Retailer GAS $100 - $2,499 $63 /location

Retailer GAS $2,500 - $14,999 $138 /location

Retailer GAS $15,000+ $273.60 /location

Wholesaler GAS < $14,999 $138 /location

Wholesaler GAS > $15,000 $273.60 /location

Christmas Tree Grower $40 /plus acreage assessment of $3/acre not to exceed $5000

License Exemption

Permit $6.70 Pertains to license exemptions

Inspection $0 Regulatory inspections

$40 - $51 /hour, during/outside business hours

Fruit Tree Assessment 1% Gross sale price of wholesale market value

Grapevine Assessment 5%

Assessment Late Fee 1.5% /per month, or portion of a month, on the unpaid balance

General Fund? No /All fee for service

Wyoming

License $25

Inspection $0

General Fund? Yes
/All program fees are deposited into the general fund and the department 

requests the budget they need from the legislature

Garden clubs, charitable non-profits, education organizations - GAS < $100; 

Cons. Dist. under certain conditions; Christmas trees if soley retail to 

ultimate customer w/ < 1 acre and < 400 trees; marijuana producers with 

permit from director to conduct such sales

Gross sale price of wholesale market value not to exceed $0.10 per 

grapevine


