Montana Department of Agriculture logo

Changes to the Nursery Licensing Program Fee Structure

The 2017 Legislature has made changes

The 2017 Legislature has made changes to the Department of Agriculture's Nursery Licensing Program's license fee structure. Please see the chart below to determine what license category pertains to your business:

  • Not more than $5,000 gross annual sales of nursery stock: $25 license fee 
  • $5,001 to $75,000 gross annual sales of nursery stock: $135 license fee 
  • $75,001 to $150,000 gross annual sales of nursery stock: $200 license fee 
  • $150,001 to $250,000 gross annual sales of nursery stock: $300 license fee 
  • Over $250,000: $300 license fee
  • Landscape Service: $150
  • Sod Farmer: $220

You must contact Beth Eiring at the Montana Department of Agriculture by phone at (406) 444-9066 or by email at beiring@mt.gov more than one month prior to the expiration date on your license to report which category your business belongs in.

If you do not contact the Department prior to the issuance of your Renewal Notice:

  • Your license will default to the highest category based upon sales over $250,000 and assessed the license fee of $400.
  • You will be subject to a change fee if you request a change to the license category after your Renewal Notice has been granted.

Refer to the Nursery page for more information

Print

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x